Database List: Free


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All Free
ACMG ACT Sheets and Confirmatory Algorithms
The ACMG ACT Sheets and their accompanying algorithms are a great resources for health care providers looking for information on genetic conditions (identified through newborn screening and beyond) to help inform clinical decision making.
African Index Medicus
In order to give access to health information published in or related to Africa and to encourage local publishing, the World Health Organization, in collaboration with the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA), has produced an international index to African health literature and information sources.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: EPC Evidence-Based Reports
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) reports provide comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new healthcare technologies and strategies. These reports may be used for informing and developing coverage decisions, quality measures, educational materials and tools, clinical practice guidelines, and research agendas.
AGRICOLA
Index to National Agricultural Library's international journals, theses, patents, computer software, and technical reports in agriculture and related fields. This database includes but is not limited to resources available in the NAL, and contains 5,200,000+ records including printed works dating back to the 15th century.
AIDSInfo
UNAIDS leads the world's most extensive data collection on HIV epidemiology, program coverage and finance and publishes the most authoritative and up-to-date information on the HIV epidemic.
ALTBIB: Alternatives to Animal Testing
Bibliography on alternatives to the use of live vertebrates in biomedical research and testing 1992-2000 and PubMed filtered searchs for animal testing, 2000 - present.
Basic Local Alignment Search Tool (BLAST)
BLAST finds regions of similarity between biological sequences. The program compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance.
BestBETs
BETs were developed in the Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK, to provide rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions, using a systematic approach to reviewing the literature.  BETs includes emergency medicine, cardiothoracic, nursing, primary care and pediatrics.
Canada Vigilance Adverse Reaction Online Database
The Canada Vigilance Adverse Reaction Online Database contains information about suspected adverse reactions/side effects to health products.
Catalog of United States Government Publications
Index of print and electronic publications of Federal agencies, 1994 to the present.
Chemical Structure Lookup Service
Search in 74 million indexed structures from over 100 databases (46 million unique structures).
ChemIDPlus
Chemical dictionary file for over 350,000 compounds of biomedical and regulatory interest. Many records include information on toxicity, physical properties, molecular weight and chemical structures.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
ClinicalTrials.gov
Database of clinical trials sponsored by the National Institutes of Health, other Federal agencies and the pharmaceutical industry. Provides status of trials.
Cochrane Interactive Learning
Developed by world-leading experts, this course provides over 15 hours of self-directed learning on conducting a complete systematic review process for both new and experienced review authors.
Complementary and Alternative (CAM) Citation Index
Search scientific evidence on complimentary and alternative products and practices via PubMed.
Computer Access to Research in Dietary Supplements (CARDS)
CARDS is a database of federally funded research projects pertaining to dietary supplements. CARDS contains projects funded by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), the Department of Defense (DOD) and the Institutes and Centers (ICs) of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) beginning with fiscal year 1999.
dbGaP: the database of Genotypes and Phenotypes
The database of Genotypes and Phenotypes (dbGaP) was developed to archive and distribute the data and results from studies that have investigated the interaction of genotype and phenotype in Humans.
Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD)
The Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) was developed by the Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). It catalogs all information printed on labels of dietary supplement products sold in the United States.
Digital Collections: U.S. National Library of Medicine
Digital Collections provides access to the National Library of Medicine's distinctive digital content in the areas of biomedicine, health care and the history of medicine.
DoctorFinder: American Medical Association
Search and browse for physicians by name/specialty. Listings include name, specialty, and contact information. If the physician is an American Medical Association (AMA) member, listings may also include gender, medical school, residency training, professional activities, map of office location, office hours, and insurance information.
Drug Information Portal
The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies.
eMolecules
Information on more than 8 million chemical structures from 150 suppliers.
EndNote
A downloadable bibliography and database manager that enables you to collect citation information from databases, websites, and more; organize them; and use them to create bibliographies and in-text citations. The link provided will take you to the University of Miami Information Technology website where you can download EndNote.
ENHANZE® Drug Delivery Technology: Advancing Subcutaneous Drug Delivery Using Recombinant Human Hyaluronidase PH20,1st edition, S. Karger / Halozyme, 2022

Entrez Molecular Sequence Database System
Entrez is a molecular biology database system that provides integrated access to nucleotide and protein sequence data, gene-centered and genomic mapping information, 3D structure data, PubMed MEDLINE, and more.
Epocrates
Consult the gold standard of current, accurate prescription data.
Florida Electronic Library
A whole array of interdisciplinary electronic resources freely accessible within Florida.  Note: Requires login with a Florida Public Access library card barcode number.
FreeBooks4Doctors!
FreeBooks4Doctors was created to promote the free availability of medical books on the Internet.
FREIDA
Fellowship and Residency Electronic Interactive Database Access system with >8,200 graduate medical education programs accredited by the ACGME.
GenBank
The National Insitutes of Health (NIH) annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.
GeneReviews
Publicly funded resource for physicians.  Includes GeneReviews, Laboratory Directory, Clinic Directory, and Educational Materials.
Google Scholar@UM
Search Google Scholar with direct links to University of Miami Library Resources. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. 

If you are within the UM campus or, if from Scholar Preferences you select the University of Miami Libraries, your Google Scholar results will include direct links to items available at UM.  If this information is in a subscription database, you will be prompted to log in with your CaneID username and password.
Grants.gov
Grants.gov provides an overview of the process to APPLY for federal grants. In order to apply for a grant, you and/or your organization must complete the Grants.gov registration process. SEARCH Grants.gov for your federal grants by keywords or more specific criteria. All discretionary grants offered by the 26 federal grant-making agencies can be found on Grants.gov. You do not have to register with Grants.gov to find grant opportunities.
Grey Literature Report
Grey Literature acquisitions of the New York Academy of Medicine.
Haz-Map
Information on Hazardous Chemicals and Occupational Diseases
Health Services and Sciences Research Resources (NLM)
Information about data sets, instruments/indices and software.
Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts
Full-text of biomedical and health care clinical practice guidelines, consumer health brochures, evidence reports, and other resources prepared by the National Institutes of Health.
HSRProj: Health Services Research Projects in Progress)
The Health Services Research Projects in Progress (HSRProj) was a dataset of ongoing health services research and public health projects containing descriptions of research in progress funded by federal and private grants and contracts.
InCites Essential Science Indicators
Essential Science Indicators provides Internet access to a unique and comprehensive compilation of essential science performance statistics and science trends.
Index Cat
IndexCat is a database containing the bibliographic citations of all five printed series of the Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office; with direct access to the National Library of Medicine (NLM) online catalog, LocatorPlus. It also contains eTK for citations to medieval Latin texts and eVK2 for medieval English texts.
Integrated Risk Information System (EPA)
IRIS is a database of human health effects that may result from exposure to various substances found in the environment.
Interdok Directory of Published Proceedings
Database of > 50,000 records.
Johns Hopkins ABX Guide
The Johns Hopkins ABX (Antibiotic) Guide from Johns Hopkins Medicine features frequently updated, authoritative, evidence-based information on the treatment of infectious diseases for point of care use. This web and mobile resource organizes details of diagnosis; drug indications, dosing, pharmacokinetics, side effects and interactions; pathogens; management; and vaccines into easily accessible, quick-read entries.
LILACS (Latin America and the Caribbean Health Sciences Literature)
The most important and comprehensive index of scientific and technical literature of Latin America and the Caribbean. For 30 years contributing to increased visibility, access and quality of health information in the region.
MDCalc
Home to over 100 clinical-decision tools that are widely used by physicians and medical students.
MedPix
MedPix is a fully web-enabled cross-platform database, integrating images and textual information. Its primary target audience includes physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, nursing students and others. The content material is organized by disease location (organ system), pathology category, patient profiles, and by image classification and caption. MedPix can be searched through multiple internal image and text search engines.
National Center for Health Statistics
The Nation's principal health statistics agency provides data and reports on a wide range of health topics. Select Faststats for quick access to summary data.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Resources for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).
National Library of Medicine (NLM)
The NLM is a leader in research in biomedical informatics and data science and the world’s largest biomedical library. NLM conducts and supports research in methods for recording, storing, retrieving, preserving, and communicating health information.
NCBI Bookshelf (eBooks)
Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
NIH Grants and Funding
The Office of Extramural Research provides the leadership, oversight, tools and guidance needed to administer and manage NIH grants policies and operations. This website provides guidance on the process of finding grants and funding.
NIH Locator Plus Catalog
The LocatorPlus Catalog provides access to National Library of Medicine bibliographic data for journals, books, audiovisuals, computer software, electronic resources and other materials.
NIH RePORTER
NIH RePORTER contains substantive descriptions of biomedical research funded by the Food & Drug Administration & the National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services.

Most of the research falls within the broad category of extramural projects, grants, contracts, and cooperative agreements conducted primarily by universities, hospitals, and other research institutions. Information includes an abstract of project, principal investigators, award type & activity, sponsor, & grant amount.
Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM)
OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes that is freely available and updated daily. OMIM is authored and edited at the McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, under the direction of Dr. Ada Hamosh.
Orpha.net
The portal for rare diseases and orphan drugs.
PDQ: National Cancer Institute
PDQ (Physician Data Query) is NCI's comprehensive source of cancer information. It contains cancer information summaries on a wide range of cancer topics; drug information summaries on many cancer-related drugs and drug combinations; and dictionaries of general cancer terms, drug terms, and genetics terms.
PEDro
Find evidence based phyical therapy information in randomized controlled trials, reviews, and guidelines.  This database is run by the Centre of Evidence-Based Physiotherapy.   
Protein Clusters
This collection of related protein sequences (clusters) consists of proteins derived from the annotations of whole genomes, organelles and plasmids. It currently limited to Archaea, Bacteria, Plants, Fungi, Protozoans, and Viruses
Protein Data Bank (RCSB PDB)
This resource is powered by the Protein Data Bank archive-information about the 3D shapes of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies that helps students and researchers understand all aspects of biomedicine and agriculture, from protein synthesis to health and disease.
PubChem
PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
PubMed
Database produced by NLM (National Library of Medicine) containing bibliographic references, including abstracts of articles from thousands of bio medical journals.
PubReMiner
Search PubMed to identify experts in a field and view journals associated with your topic of interest.
REHABDATA: National Rehabilitation Information Center
The REHABDATA database spans almost 50 years of disability and rehabilitation research. More than 200,000 abstracts are available through this database, including approximately 115,000 records originally indexed in the Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange (CIRRIE) database.
Rehabilitation Measures Database (RMD)
A database of instruments and standardized assessments for physical medicine and rehabilitation
Scholarship@Miami
The Scholarly Repository features selected research and scholarly works prepared by faculty, students, and staff at the University of Miami.
Science Careers
Jobs in Science & Technology from Science Careers
Sherpa (Securing a Hybrid Environment for Research Preservation and Access)
Award winning SHERPA develops open-access institutional repositories in universities to facilitate the rapid and efficient worldwide dissemination of research. SHERPA services and the SHERPA Partnership are both based at the Centre for Research Communications at the University of Nottingham.
Social Care Online
The UK’s largest database of information and research on all aspects of social care and social work.
SPIE Digital Library
SPIE Digital Library includes resource on optics and photonics, providing access to more than 260,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new research papers are added annually.
Substance Registration System (SRS)
Produced by the Food & Drug Administration (FDA), the SRS unambiguously defines all substances present in regulated products.
Sugarbaker’s Adult Chest Surgery, McGraw Hill, 2020

SUMSearch
SUMSearch is a metasearch engine that provides references to answer clinical questions. Simultaneously searches multiple sources of high quality with emphasis on evidence-based medicine
The Prevention TaskForce
Hands-on tool designed to help primary care clinicians identify and offer the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients. The ePSS is based on the current, evidence-based recommendations of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) and can be searched by specific patient characteristics, such as age, sex, and selected behavioral risk factors.
Thieme eBook Library
The Thieme E-Book Library is an online collection of illustrated full-color downloadable textbooks from Thiemes Color Atlases and Flexibook series. Each electronic book retains the educational utility of the print version, including full-color illustrations and instructive text plus a search function to help users easily locate topics across the entire collection. The collection covers every course in the medical school curriculum to help students, researchers and clinicians master critical subjects in medicine and the life sciences.
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice)
Access more than 15,000 links to EBM and peer-reviewed articles and practice guidelines at more than 61 sites of high quality medical information. Also searches PubMed using EBM filters.
Video Collections - UM
University of Miami Libraries Video Database List
Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository
This is a database of ongoing nursing research, searchable by conference abstract, researcher, keyword (study title and/or indexing keywords), or study.