The goals of this guide are to:
- Provide essential information for new and current medical students.
- Inform and assist medical students access essential resources through the Calder Library.
This guide is intended for medical students at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine. It has information about both on-campus and online resources available to medical students.
You may navigate this guide by using the links on the Table of Contents at the left or by using the Tabs on top of each page.
All about Your Eyes (2006)
Atlas of Human Anatomy (2014)
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology (2018)
Basic Ophthalmology (2010)
Basics of Anesthesia (2018)
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking (2003)
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking- newer 12th edition available
Behavioral Science in Medicine (2004)
Behavioral Science in Medicine- newer 2nd edition available in library
Berkowitz's Pediatrics (2014) or Berkowitz's Pediatrics (2014)
Biochemistry (Lippincott Illustrated Review Series) (2017)
Bradley's Neurology in Clinical Practice (2015)
BRC Cell Biololgy and Histology (2011)
Cardiovascular Physiology (2018)
Case Files Pediatrics
Cecil Essentials of Medicine (1990)- 2nd edition
Cecil Essentials of Medicine- newer 9th edition available in library
Cecil Essentials of Medicine (1997)- 4th edition
Cecil Essentials of Medicine- newer 9th edition available in library
Cell Physiology (2006)
Clinical Dermatology (2016)
Clinical Epidemiology (2005)
Clinical Epidemiology- newer 5th edition available in library
Clinical Neurology (2018)
Clinically Oriented Anatomy (2014)
Current Diagnosis & Treatment Psychiatry (2008)
Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment (2017)
Current Surgical Therapy (2001)
Current Surgical Therapy- newer 11th edition available electronically
DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination (2015)
Drugs for the Heart (2009)
Drugs for the Heart- newer 8th edition available electronically
Endocrine Physiology (2013)
Essential Clinical Neuroanatomy (2015)
Essentials of Clinical Geriatrics (2013)
Essentials of Family Medicine (2012)
Essentials of General Surgery (2013)
Evidence-Based Medicine - Sackett (2000)
Evidence-Based Medicine - Straus (2010)
Evidence-Based Physical Diagnosis (2012)
Felson's Principles of Chest Roentgenology (2020)
Gastrointestinal Physiology (2019)
Greenfield's Surgery (2017)
Greenspan's Basic and Clinical Endocrinology (2011)
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology (2020)
Handbook of Gastroenterology (2013)
Handbook of Neurosurgery (2010)
Harriet Lane Handbook (Johns Hopkins Hospital) (2018)
Harrison's Endocrinololgy (2013)
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine (2005)
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine- newer 19th edition available electronically
Human Genetics (2012)
Immune System (2009)
Junqueira's Basic Histology (2015)
Junqueira's Basic Histology- newer 15th edition available electronically
Kaplan and Sadock's Study Guide and Self-examination Review in Psychiatry (2003)
Kaplan and Sadock's Study Guide and Self-examination Review in Psychiatry- newer 9th edition available in library
Katzung & Trevor's Pharmacology (2019)
Langman's Medical Embryology (2019)
Learning Radiology (2014)
Localization in Clinical Neurology (2011)
Lookingbill and Marks' Principles of Dermatology (2013)
McMinn and Abrahams' Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy (2013)
Medical Microbiology (2005)
Medical Microbiology- newer 8th edition available electronically
Medical Physiology: A Systems Approach (2011)
Medical Physiology (2017)
Miller's Anesthesia (2020)
MKSAP for Students 2 (2003)
MKSAP for Students 3 (2005)
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics (2016)
Netter's Clinical Anatomy (2019)
Netter's Correlative Imaging Cardiothoracic Anatomy (2013)
Neuroanatomy through Clinical Cases (2002)
Neuroanatomy through Clinical Cases- newer 2nd edition also available in library
Neurology: an Illustrated Colour Text (2010)
Neuroscience- newer 5th edition also available in library
NMS Pediatrics (2009)
NMS Surgery (2008)
NMS Surgery- newer 6th edition also available in library
Obstetrics and Gynecology (2014)
Operative Surgey (2006)
Pathophysiology of Dermatologic Diseases (1991)
Pathophysiology of Heart Disease (2011)
Pathophysiology of Heart Disease- newer 6th edition available electronically
Physician's Guide to End-of-life Care (2001)
Physiology (2019)- newer 7th edition available
Pocket Companion to Sabiston Textbook of Surgery (2002)
Principles of Surgery (1999)
Pulmonary Pathophysiology (2005)
Pulmonary Pathophysiology- newer 3rd edition available in library
Pulmonary Physiology (2018)
Robbins and Cotan Pathologic Basis of Disease (2005)
Robbins and Cotan Pathologic Basis of Disease- newer 9th edition available electronically
Robbins Basic Pathology (2007)
Robbins Basic Pathology- newer 10th edition available electronically
Sabiston Textbook of Surgery (2001)
Sabiston Textbook of Surgery- newer 20th edition available electronically
Sapira's Art and Science of Bedside Diagnosis (2010)
Schwartz's Clinical Handbook of Pediatrics (2013)
Smith's Patient Centered Interviewing (2012)
Squire's Fundamentals of Radiology (2004)
Surgery: Basic Science and Clinical Evidence (2001)
Surgery: Scientific Principles and Practice (2001)
Surgery: Scientific Principles and Practice- newer 5th edition available electronically
Taylor and Kelly's Dermatology for Skin of Color, (2016)
Thompson and Thompson Genetics in Medicine (2016)
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature (2008)
Vaughan & Asbury's General Ophthalmology (2018)
West's Respiratory Physiology (2015)
Williams Gynecology (2012)
Williams Gynecology- newer 3rd edition available electronically
Williams Obstetrics (2014)
Trusted Content. Instant Answers. Innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 50 medical titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to download content to a mobile device.
Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Streaming videos of head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques plus OSCE videos.
Clinical search engine that adapts to any screen size, helping you find fast answers and deep evidence from more than 1,000 full-text reference books, 600 full-text journals, videos, images and more.
DynaMed is the next-generation clinical reference tool physicians can rely on for fast, easy access to point-of-care decision support. Written by a team of specialized physicians and researchers, content is updated several times daily to include information on the latest evidence-based research, providing practice-changing answers to clinical questions with optimized speed.
powerful web-based portal that features DSM-V®—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing. It provides access to the DSM® Library, Journals, Textbooks, American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines, self-assessment tools for study, clinical and research news from Psychiatric News, and medication information handouts for patients.
Clinical decision support tool designed to answer clinical questions that arise in daily practice. Subscription database with access for UM/JMH authorized users.
Diagnostic decision support system (CDSS) merges medical images and expert information to help you build patient-centric differential diagnosis.
EMBASE, from Elsevier Life Sciences Solutions, provides extensive coverage of international biomedical journals and conferences and is a key resource for generating systematic reviews, making informed decisions in evidence-based medicine, and for post-market surveillance of drugs and medical devices.
Includes: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
The APA's database of more than 1 million citations to the psychology literature, published since 1967. Access available within UM I.P. domain.
Access to MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE, sets of related articles for each cited article, DNA/protein sequences and 3-D structure data, and links to publisher sites.
The largest database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature back to 1966, including cited references.
Web of Science
Access to Web of Science, 1945 to the present, Conference Proceedings, MEDLINE, ISI Journal Citation Reports, Essential Science Indicators, and Zoological Record, 1978 to the present by all UM users.
EndNote is a reference management software.
Mendeley is a hybrid desktop, web-hosted citation and pdf manager. It includes research finding tools and social networking. You can create an account and download the software at the link.
Refworks is a web-hosted service. No software download is necessary.
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
Information on creating and using an ORCID iD at the University of Miami. Your ORCID iD is a unique identifier for researchers that provides a persistent digital identifier to distinguish you from all other researchers.
Setting up your free ORCID account takes only minutes. Once you create your account, you can use it to keep track of all your scientific papers.
Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) is the conscientious, explicit, judicious and reasonable use of modern, best evidence in making decisions about the care of individual patients. EBM integrates clinical experience and patient values with the best available research information. (David Sackett, 1997).
Evidence-Based Public Health is defined as the conscientious, explicit, and judicious use of the current best evidence in making decisions about the care of communities and populations in the domain of health protection, disease prevention, health maintenance and improvement (health promotion). It is the process of systematically finding, appraising, and using contemporaneous research findings as the basis for decisions in public health." (M. Jenicek (1997)
The steps of practicing EBM:
1. Ask a focused question.
2. Track down the evidence
3. Critically appraise evidence for its validity, effect size, precision
4. Apply the evidence in practice:
- amalgamate the valid evidence with other relevant information (values & preferences, clinical/health issues, & system issues)
- implement the decision in practice
John Reynolds, MLIS, AHIP
Jorge Perez, MLIS, AHIP
Layal Hneiny, MLIS, MPH-HMP
Barbara M. Sorondo, PhD, MLIS
- Alternate Personal Librarian
Erica Powell, MLIS
- Alternate Personal Librarian
Training & Consultations: Register for statistical programs classes and database training here. To schedule a librarian consultation email firstname.lastname@example.org.
FAQ: Check our Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) page.
Chat: Talk to our staff live by using the Ask A Librarian feature.
Library Blog: Read our Calder Communications Blog to stay updated with library news and resources.
Mango Languages: UM Library patrons have access to the Mango language learning app where they can learn several different languages such as Spanish, French, German, and more. To register for an account, click here!
IT: For Information Technology (IT) related questions, students can contact UMIT by calling them at (305) 243-5999 or email them at email@example.com.
3D printer: Students can request 3D prints, free of cost, by contacting staff at the Circulation Desk on the first floor. For more information on how to request a 3D print click here.
Statistical Software: Students can access statistical software such as SPSS, SAS, Prism, and Tableu on library computers. For a consultation contact our Biomedical Data Librarian, Dr. Thilani Samarakoon, at firstname.lastname@example.org .
Biomedical Services: Students can have pictures and posters made with Biomedical Communications, located in the basement floor of the library. You can call them at (305) 243-6783.
UPrint Services: Students have access to printers on the first and second floor of the library.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL): Students can request books from borrowing library through ILL by filling out a request form.
Miller School of Medicine Department of Medical Education
Access online schedules and calendars.
National Board of Medical Examiners
Provides information on licensing exam services including sample assessments.