Medical Mobile Apps

AccessMedicine is an innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 50 medical titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to download content to a mobile device.

About the AccessMedicine App

The AccessMedicine app delivers indispensable support and invaluable point of care solutions for clinical practice through these mobile features:

Quick Medical Dx & Rx is a collection of concise evidence-based outlines of conditions and disorders most often encountered in medical practice, perfect for high-yield review or for quick reference in the clinical setting.

Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology facilitates dermatologic diagnosis by providing color images of skin lesions, plus a summary outline of skin disorders and diseases.

Differential Diagnosis Tool provides more than 1,000 diagnoses through Diagnosaurus, a McGraw-Hill Medical tool that efficiently allows you to browse by symptom, disease, or organ system at the point of care.

Diagnostic Tests, from Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests, is a quick reference guide to the selection and interpretation of commonly used diagnostic tests, including laboratory procedures in the clinical setting.

The AccessMedicine app is available to users at institutions with a full site license. To activate and for continued access to the app, the user must have an active My Access account and sign in every 90 days through your institution, either on-site or through a VPN. Sign up for a My Access account today by logging into your subscription and clicking on your institution name in the upper right hand corner. To download the app, please visit the Apple App Store or Google Play Store.
 

Now, you can use AccessScience from your mobile device, tablet or laptop even when you are not connected to your institution's network. Simply download a Roaming Passport to your device.

Click on the image above to download from your Roaming Passport.
 

BrowZine

Browse, read and monitor scholarly journals across the disciplines. BrowZine works by organizing the articles found in Open Access and subscription databases, uniting them into complete journals, then arranging these journals on a common newsstand.

Available for Apple iOS, Android and Amazon devices.

DynaMed

DynaMed is the next-generation clinical reference tool physicians can rely on for fast, easy access to point-of-care decision support. Written by a team of specialized physicians and researchers, content is updated several times daily to include information on the latest evidence-based research, providing practice-changing answers to clinical questions with optimized speed.

Access DynaMed from Calder Library's eDatabases tab on the home page. Click on the Sign Up For Remote Access tab at the top of the DynaMed page, then sign up for a DynaMed Account. You must have a personal account to download the mobile app from the App Store or Google Play.

 

EBSCOhost Mobile provides seamless access to the EBSCOhost (ehost) or EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) interfaces via mobile devices without the need to download an application. Simply access your library's EBSCOhost resources from a mobile device and a mobile-friendly version of the site will display. For more information on EBSCOhost Mobile click here .

If you would prefer to use the available app for iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad and Android, below you will find links to download it from iTunes and Google Play. Authentication instructions and links to online Help pages that describe how to use the app, are available here.

This free app ensures that users get the most from searching premium EBSCOhost database content, provided courtesy of the library.

The convenience and rich functionality of the app enables users to:

• Choose which databases to search
• Limit results to full text or peer reviewed
• Sort by relevance or date
• Retrieve full text results in HTML and/or PDF formats
• Save results for offline access at a later date
• Email results to self or others
• Automatically save 25 most recent searches
• View cover flow display of results

Available for Apple iOS and Android devices.
 

Florida Electronic Library

A whole array of interdisciplinary electronic resources freely accessible within Florida.

Download the Access My Library app for Apple iOS or Android devices.

 

ISABEL

Isabel is an award-winning, clinical decision support system designed to enhance the quality of diagnosis decision making. Its unique feature is a diagnosis reminder system.For a given set of clinical features Isabel instantly provides a checklist of likely diagnoses including bio-terrorism conditions, related diagnoses and causative drugs.

Isabel no longer has an iPhone or Android app, but has a mobile enabled site. On your device go to: https://www.isabelhealthcare.com, save the shortcut to your home screen. Click on the Login icon and enter the UM institutional ID and password, available from the desktop version when logged in remotely through Calder Library. Check ‘remember me’ to save login details. A QR code is also available for faster mobile access. You save  to your home screen for future use.  

NOTE: iPhone  - Safari users will need to  disable  “Block Pop ups” in  Settings in order to get to the linked resources.   Settings >> Safari >> Block Pop-ups OFF

Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

Databases on librarianship, information retrieval and management, and more via EBSCOhost web.

App is available through EBSCOhost Mobile , which provides seamless access to the EBSCOhost (ehost) or EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) interfaces via mobile devices without the need to download an application. Simply access your library's EBSCOhost resources from a mobile device and a mobile-friendly version of the site will display.

If you would prefer to use the available app for iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad and Android, you can also download the app for Apple iOS and Android devices. Authentication instructions and links to online Help pages that describe how to use the app, are available here.

 

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

Comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for novice test consumers to experienced professionals. Contains information for a complete evaluation of test products in psychology, education, business, and leadership.

Available through EBSCOhost Mobile , which provides seamless access to the EBSCOhost (ehost) or EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) interfaces via mobile devices without the need to download an application. Simply access your library's EBSCOhost resources from a mobile device and a mobile-friendly version of the site will display.

If you would prefer to use the available app for iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad and Android, you can also download the EBSCOhost app for Apple iOS and Android devices. Authentication instructions and links to online Help pages that describe how to use the app, are available here.
 

Natural Medicines

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database gives trusted unbiased, clinical data on approximately 90,000 herbal products, dietary supplements, vitamins, minerals, homeopathic products, Ayurvedic medicines, complementary alternative medicines, integrative therapies, alternative treatment modalities (e.g., acupuncture), traditional Chinese medicines (fixed combination) products, and other natural remedies. Provides high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.

Available for Apple iOS and Android devices.

PsycARTICLES

A source for full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
 

PsycCRITIQUES

Combines a weekly release of up-to-date reviews of current books and films with a searchable database. This database helps faculty members quickly identify literature for course work, students identify research done over time, and practitioners find current practice information.
 

PsycEXTRA

A gray literature database, which serves as a companion to the scholarly PsycINFO database. Most of the content was written for professionals and disseminated outside of peer-reviewed journals.
 

PsycINFO

The APA's database of more than 1 million citations to the psychology literature, published since 1967. Access available within UM I.P. domain.

Databases all are available through EBSCOhost Mobile , which provides seamless access to the EBSCOhost (ehost) or EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) interfaces via mobile devices without the need to download an application. Simply access your library's EBSCOhost resources from a mobile device and a mobile-friendly version of the site will display.

If you would prefer to use the available app for iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad and Android, you can also download the EBSCOhost app for Apple iOS and Android devices. Authentication instructions and links to online Help pages that describe how to use the app, are available here.
 

RCSB Protein Data Bank

The Protein Data Bank (PDB) archive is the single worldwide repository of information about the 3D structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids.

The PDB was established in 1971 at Brookhaven National Laboratory under the leadership of Walter Hamilton and originally contained 7 structures. After Hamilton's untimely death, Tom Koetzle began to lead the PDB in 1973, and then Joel Sussman in 1994. In 1998, the Research Collaboratory for Structural Bioinformatics (RCSB) became responsible for the management of the PDB. In 2003, the wwPDB was formed to maintain a single PDB archive of macromolecular structural data that is freely and publicly available to the global community. It consists of organizations that act as deposition, data processing and distribution centers for PDB data.

The RCSB Protein Data Bank is a mobile-responsive website is available on all devices.

SPORTDiscus

Database of Sports literature; journal coverage is 1975 - present; books and theses is 1949 to present. Access within UM IP domain.

Available through EBSCOhost Mobile , which provides seamless access to the EBSCOhost (ehost) or EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) interfaces via mobile devices without the need to download an application. Simply access your library's EBSCOhost resources from a mobile device and a mobile-friendly version of the site will display.

If you would prefer to use the available app for iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad and Android, you can also download the EBSCOhost app for Apple iOS and Android devices. Authentication instructions and links to online Help pages that describe how to use the app, are available here.

TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice)

Access more than 15,000 links to EBM and peer-reviewed articles and practice guidelines at more than 61 sites of high quality medical information. Also searches PubMed using EBM filters.

The TRIP Database is a mobile-friendly site for Apple iOS and Android devices.

UpToDate

A clinical support system designed to answer clinical questions that arise in daily practice. Contains succinct, comprehensive, current and fully referenced evidence on more than 7,000 clinical topics written by physicians. 

For mobile access, you must first register for an Up To Date account from the library's website within the UMMSM/Jackson Health System IP domain (on-campus or remote). Once registered, you can install the UpToDate Mobile App on up to two devices.

Download and install the mobile app:

1. Search for “UpToDate” in your app store. Available for Apple iOS and Android devices.
2. Open the UpToDate Mobile App and log in with the UpToDate user name and password you created when registering for your account.

You only need to do this once — the app remembers your user name and password.

To maintain uninterrupted access to UpToDate you will need to confirm your affiliation with University of Miami/ Jackson Health System every 90 days.
To do this, simply log in to UpToDate from within the UM/JHS network every time you use UpToDate.
 

MOBILE WEB — NOTHING TO INSTALL
Simply open the browser on your mobile device, go to www.uptodate.com and click Log in from the upper right corner.
You will find a consistent experience across all mobile platforms that is:

• Optimized for smaller screens and tablets
• User-friendly and easy to navigate

VisualDx

Diagnostic decision support system (CDSS) merges medical images and expert information to help you build a patient-centric differential diagnosis.

Mobile access is included with UM's institutional license. Access Visual Dx from Calder Library's eDatabases tab on the Library website home page, while on campus. Click on the Get Mobile App button under the search box, then sign up for a Visual Dx Account. You must have a personal account to download the mobile app. Click here for the specific mobile download instructions to ensure you can use VisualDx on the go.

Available for Apple iOS and Android devices.

WorldCat

Access over 1 billion items in more than 10,000 libraries worldwide.

The WorldCat Mobile Web application is optimized for iOS and Android devices.

 

ZIKA

WHO’s Zika app aims to provide essential information on Zika virus disease and its suspected complications. Designed primarily for health care workers and responders, the app can also be a source of real-time information for the general public.

Download and use the app on Apple or Android platforms and have easy-to-use information at your fingertips.