Welcome to the Calder Medical Library Resource Guide for Scholarly Communications and Open Access. We have designed this guide to provide information on various open access resources. We hope you find this page useful!
Definition from: www.eprints.org/uk/index.php/openaccess
Benefits of Open Access
- Accelerates recognition and dissemination of research findings and the potential for greater global impact with broader audience and no access delays.
- Authors retain copyright since open access journals don't ask researchers to transfer copyright.
- Provides expanding access to research done by UM faculty worldwide.
- Faculty gain greater visibility and more control over their intellectual output.
- Open Access Overview
This is an introduction to open access (OA) for those who are new to the concept
- ORCID @ UM
Information on creating and using an ORCID iD at the University of Miami. Your ORCID iD is a unique identifier for researchers that provides a persistent digital identifier to distinguish you from all other researchers.
Setting up your free ORCID account takes only minutes. Once you create your account, you can use it to keep track of all your scientific papers.
The University of Miami's Louis Calder Memorial Library is the place to find authoritative, current, and relevant information for patient care, research, and education.
John Reynolds
- Reference and Education Librarian
- jxr1327@med.miami.edu
- (305) 243-5439
- University of Miami Scholarly Repositiory
The Scholarly Repository features selected research and scholarly works prepared by faculty, students, and staff at the University of Miami. - OPEN DOAR
(Directory of Open Access Repositories)
- ARL/OSC (Association or Research Libraries/Office of Scholarly Communications)
A nonprofit organization of research libraries that promotes and advocates for barrier-free access to research and educational information resources. - SPARC -Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition
SPARC is an international alliance of academic and research libraries working to create a more open system of scholarly communication. - EOS- Enabling Open Scholarship
EOS is an organisation for universities and research institutions worldwide. The organisation is both an information service and a forum for raising and discussing issues around the mission of modern universities and research institutions, particularly with regard to the creation, dissemination and preservation of research findings. The EOS website is a resource open to all. It provides background information, data and guidance material on open scholarship-related issues. - OASIS - Open Access Scholarly Information Sourcebook
A portal of educational materials offering authoritative information on the concept, principles, approaches and initiatives of the open access movement worldwide. OASIS' target audience is researchers, librarians, publishers, administrators, students, and the public.
- BMC Cell Biology
BMC Cell Biology is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of the biology of cells, including organelles and cellular compartments, trafficking and turnover, signaling, motility, adhesion, cell division, differentiation and programmed cell death. - DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. - PLOS
PLOS publishes a suite of influential journals from all areas of science and medicine that contain rigorously reported, peer-reviewed Open Access research articles. - PLoS Medicine
PLOS Medicine is the leading open-access medical journal, providing an influential venue for outstanding research and commentary on the major challenges to human health worldwide.
View open access publications by faculty of UM's Miller School of Medicine in PubMed.
UM Miller School of Medicine Open Access Faculty Publications
- UNESCO - Open Access Portal
The Global Open Access Portal (GOAP), funded by the Governments of Colombia, Denmark, Norway, and the United States Department of State, presents a current snapshot of the status of Open Access (OA) to scientific information around the world. For countries that have been more successful implementing Open Access, the portal highlights critical success factors and aspects of the enabling environment. For countries and regions that are still in the early stages of Open Access development, the portal identifies key players, potential barriers and opportunities. - NIH Public Access Policy Digest
NIH Public Access Policy News, Alerts and Updates - NIH Public Access Policy - Researcher's Portal
NIH Public Access Policy website. - ROAR
Tracks the growth of existing Open Access archives. - OAA Bibliography
Tracks studies on the Open Access advantage in research usage and impact. - ROARMAP
Tracks the growth of institutional self archiving policies. - Sherpa (Securing a Hybrid Environment for Research Preservation and Access)
Award winning SHERPA develops open-access institutional repositories in universities to facilitate the rapid and efficient worldwide dissemination of research. SHERPA services and the SHERPA Partnership are both based at the Centre for Research Communications at the University of Nottingham. - Transforming Scholarly Publishing Through Open Access: A Bibliography
Written by CHARLES W. BAILEY, JR
Transforming Scholarly Publishing through Open Access: A Bibliography presents over 1,100 selected English-language scholarly works useful in understanding the open access movement's efforts to provide free access to and unfettered use of scholarly literature. The bibliography primarily includes books and published
journal articles.
- ORCID @ UM
Information on creating and using an ORCID iD at the University of Miami. Your ORCID iD is a unique identifier for researchers that provides a persistent digital identifier to distinguish you from all other researchers.
Setting up your free ORCID account takes only minutes. Once you create your account, you can use it to keep track of all your scientific papers.
- Why Open Access?
Describes advantages of open access to researchers, educational institutions, and students. - NIH Public Access Policy
Offers detailed information to researchers on how to comply with the NIH policy, which requires that the public have access to the published results of NIH-funded research.
- Author's Concerns about Open Access
Discusses researchers' concerns about copyright, depositing articles in repositories, peer reviewed practices of open access journals, plagiarism, affordability, etc. - Author's Rights
Do you want to retain the right to post your article on your course website, or in your institution’s digital repository? Do you want to share copies of your articles with your colleagues or students?
These and other questions are heard more and more frequently on campuses. That’s why SPARC has developed Author Rights – an educational initiative that informs faculty across all disciplines about their copyrights, and how to use the SPARC Author Addendum to effectively manage your rights as a journal article author to ensure that your article can be accessed and used as broadly as possible. - SPARC’s Author Addendum
A free, legal document developed by SPARC that can be attached to publishers' copyright forms and modifies publishers' agreements by allowing authors to keep key rights to their articles. - PLoS (Public Library of Science)
A leading open access publisher, PLoS provides data to authors, publishers, and readers on "Article-Level Metrics", which are measures for evaluating usage, reach, and research quality of published articles. - (Mis)Leading Open Access Myths
Article from Open Access Now, a newsletter once published by BioMed Central, dispelling common myths about open access. - Open Access Fund (SPARC)
Guidance provided by SPARC for administrators, authors and publishers on creating and developing open access fund programs at research institutions. Open Access funds are reserved by institutions to cover processing fees of articles published by members of the institution in open access journals. - Open Access Overview
This is an introduction to open access (OA) for those who are new to the concept - Self-Archiving
Answers to FAQs on self-archiving, the process through which authors deposit their work in institutional repositories. - Articles for Researchers
Articles at the OASIS portal present various open access topics of interest to researchers and authors including how to publish a book, citation impact, research metrics, research dissemination, author's rights, author's concerns, etc. - Briefing Papers
Information of interest to researchers and authors from the OASIS portal on open access, institutional repositories, open access impact on research, copyright, etc.
What is the NIH Public Access Policy?
The Policy implements Division G, Title II, Section 218 of PL 110-161 (Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2008) which states:
SEC. 218. The Director of the National Institutes of Health shall require that all investigators funded by the NIH submit or have submitted for them to the National Library of Medicine’s PubMed Central an electronic version of their final peer-reviewed manuscripts upon acceptance for publication, to be made publicly available no later than 12 months after the official date of publication: Provided, That the NIH shall implement the public access policy in a manner consistent with copyright law.
The Public Access Policy ensures that the public has access to the published results of NIH-funded research.
It requires scientists to submit final peer-reviewed journal manuscripts that arise from NIH funds to the digital archive PubMed Central (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/).
The Policy requires that these final peer-reviewed manuscripts be accessible to the public on PubMed Central to help advance science and improve human health.
More information on the NIH Public Access Policy can be obtained at:
https://publicaccess.nih.gov/
The Policy implements Division G, Title II, Section 218 of PL 110-161 (Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2008) which states:
SEC. 218. The Director of the National Institutes of Health shall require that all investigators funded by the NIH submit or have submitted for them to the National Library of Medicine’s PubMed Central an electronic version of their final peer-reviewed manuscripts upon acceptance for publication, to be made publicly available no later than 12 months after the official date of publication: Provided, That the NIH shall implement the public access policy in a manner consistent with copyright law.
The Public Access Policy ensures that the public has access to the published results of NIH-funded research.
It requires scientists to submit final peer-reviewed journal manuscripts that arise from NIH funds to the digital archive PubMed Central (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/).
The Policy requires that these final peer-reviewed manuscripts be accessible to the public on PubMed Central to help advance science and improve human health.
More information on the NIH Public Access Policy can be obtained at:
https://publicaccess.nih.gov/
The Public Access Compliance Monitor provides a snapshot of the Institution's compliance.
http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov/utils/pacm
Video Tutorial
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PKTv1Wczv3o#t=2760
http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov/utils/pacm
Video Tutorial
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PKTv1Wczv3o#t=2760
Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PVG_lkkoJuw&list=PLOEUwSnjvqBJS9LZs1vMoG6vcAbTAxq0H
MyNCBI Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IIEBtfnSqMA&index=9&list=PL88E9E5EA3BECE0D7
Training Materials
https://publicaccess.nih.gov/communications.htm
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PVG_lkkoJuw&list=PLOEUwSnjvqBJS9LZs1vMoG6vcAbTAxq0H
MyNCBI Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IIEBtfnSqMA&index=9&list=PL88E9E5EA3BECE0D7
Training Materials
https://publicaccess.nih.gov/communications.htm
- My NCBI overview video
- My Bibliography overview video
- Linking eRA Commons accounts to My NCBI
- Managing Compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy: video overview and instructions
- Collaborating with PIs and Co-Authors to associate papers with NIH grants, monitor compliance, and simplify reporting
- Using delegates for My Bibliography
- Using My Bibliography to generate the publications section of form PHS 2590
- My NCBI detailed video training excerpted from the January 2013 Webinar
What is PubMed Central?
PubMed Central is an archive of full-text biomedical journal papers available online without a fee. Papers on PubMed Central contain links to other scientific databases such as GenBank (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Genbank/) and PubChem (http://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/).
Papers collected under the Public Access Policy are archived on PubMed Central.
Once posted to PubMed Central, results of NIH-funded research become more prominent, integrated and accessible, making it easier for all scientists to pursue NIH's research priority areas competitively.
PubMed Central materials are integrated with large NIH research data bases such as Genbank and PubChem, which helps accelerate scientific discovery.
Clinicians, patients, educators, and students can better reap the benefits of papers arising from NIH funding by accessing them on PubMed Central at no charge.
Finally, the Policy allows NIH to monitor, mine, and develop its portfolio of taxpayer funded research more effectively, and archive its results in perpetuity.
More information about PubMed Central is available at http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/about/faq.html.
PubMed Central is an archive of full-text biomedical journal papers available online without a fee. Papers on PubMed Central contain links to other scientific databases such as GenBank (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Genbank/) and PubChem (http://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/).
Papers collected under the Public Access Policy are archived on PubMed Central.
Once posted to PubMed Central, results of NIH-funded research become more prominent, integrated and accessible, making it easier for all scientists to pursue NIH's research priority areas competitively.
PubMed Central materials are integrated with large NIH research data bases such as Genbank and PubChem, which helps accelerate scientific discovery.
Clinicians, patients, educators, and students can better reap the benefits of papers arising from NIH funding by accessing them on PubMed Central at no charge.
Finally, the Policy allows NIH to monitor, mine, and develop its portfolio of taxpayer funded research more effectively, and archive its results in perpetuity.
More information about PubMed Central is available at http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/about/faq.html.
Public Access Policy FAQ's
https://publicaccess.nih.gov/faq.htm
MyBibliography FAQ's
https://publicaccess.nih.gov/my-bibliography-faq.htm
Manuscript Submission System FAQ's
https://www.nihms.nih.gov/db/sub.cgi?page=faq
Research Performance Progress Report FAQ's
http://grants.nih.gov/grants/rppr/faqs.htm
MyNCBI Delegates FAQ's
https://publicaccess.nih.gov/my-ncbi-delegates-faq.htm
https://publicaccess.nih.gov/faq.htm
MyBibliography FAQ's
https://publicaccess.nih.gov/my-bibliography-faq.htm
Manuscript Submission System FAQ's
https://www.nihms.nih.gov/db/sub.cgi?page=faq
Research Performance Progress Report FAQ's
http://grants.nih.gov/grants/rppr/faqs.htm
MyNCBI Delegates FAQ's
https://publicaccess.nih.gov/my-ncbi-delegates-faq.htm
Method A
These journals post the final published version of all peer-reviewed NIH-funded articles to PubMed Central (PMC) no later than 12 months after publication without author involvement.
List of Method A Journals
https://publicaccess.nih.gov/submit_process_journals.htm
Method B
These publishers and journals have an agreement with NIH to post individual final published articles in PubMed Central (PMC) on a case-by-case basis. These journals do not automatically post every NIH-funded paper in PMC. Rather, the author can choose to arrange with the journal to post a specific article; this usually involves choosing the journal’s fee-based open access option for publishing that article.
List of Method B Journals
https://publicaccess.nih.gov/select_deposit_publishers.htm
Methods C & D
In Method C, the author or a delegate deposits the final peer-reviewed manuscript into the NIH Manuscript Submission system (NIHMS).
In Method D, the publisher deposits the final peer-reviewed manuscript into the NIHMS.
Regardless of who starts and manages the submission process, authors and awardees are responsible for ensuring that the final, peer-reviewed manuscript is deposited into the NIHMS upon acceptance for publication.
For additional information on submission methods, please visit:
https://publicaccess.nih.gov/submit_process.htm
These journals post the final published version of all peer-reviewed NIH-funded articles to PubMed Central (PMC) no later than 12 months after publication without author involvement.
List of Method A Journals
https://publicaccess.nih.gov/submit_process_journals.htm
Method B
These publishers and journals have an agreement with NIH to post individual final published articles in PubMed Central (PMC) on a case-by-case basis. These journals do not automatically post every NIH-funded paper in PMC. Rather, the author can choose to arrange with the journal to post a specific article; this usually involves choosing the journal’s fee-based open access option for publishing that article.
List of Method B Journals
https://publicaccess.nih.gov/select_deposit_publishers.htm
Methods C & D
In Method C, the author or a delegate deposits the final peer-reviewed manuscript into the NIH Manuscript Submission system (NIHMS).
In Method D, the publisher deposits the final peer-reviewed manuscript into the NIHMS.
Regardless of who starts and manages the submission process, authors and awardees are responsible for ensuring that the final, peer-reviewed manuscript is deposited into the NIHMS upon acceptance for publication.
For additional information on submission methods, please visit:
https://publicaccess.nih.gov/submit_process.htm
The NIH Manuscript Submission System (NIHMS)
The NIH Manuscript Submission System (NIHMS) is tool for authors and publishers to deposit electronic version of peer-reviewed final manuscripts for inclusion in PubMed Central. Papers in the NIHMS are assigned an identifier (NIHMSID). The NIHMS has a video overview, illustrated submission tutorials and an FAQ.
Check out this UM Libraries presentation on Predatory Publishers: link to video
Preparing to publish your research?
Avoid predatory and disreputable publishers.
Use the Think, Check, Submit checklist first:
Avoid predatory and disreputable publishers.
Use the Think, Check, Submit checklist first:
Think. Check. Submit. Checklists
JANE - The Journal/Author Name Estimator
Enter keywords or an entire abstract and JANE will suggest journals by comparing your input to millions of documents in PubMed to find the matching journals.
SPI-Hub - The Vanderbilt Univesity Medical Center's Center for Knowledge Management
This tool attempts to provide authors with information on journal quality, rigor, and transparency to aid informed decision making on publishing venues.
DOAJ - The Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ works to to increase the visibility, accessibility, reputation, usage and impact of quality, peer-reviewed, open access scholarly research journals. Listed journals must meet the DOAJ quality and integrity standards. Look up journals by topic, easlity see Journal processing fees and copyright/reuse policies
Think, Check, Submit
The Think, Check, Submit process will help you discover what you need to know when assessing whether or not a journal is a suitable venue for your research.
Where to Publish Your Research: Identifying Potential Journals
A guide from the Duquesne University Library
Journals accepting case reports. Gotschall T, Spencer A, Hoogland MA, Cortez E, Irish E. Journal of the Medical Library Association. 2023 Oct 2;111(4):819-822. doi: 10.5195/jmla.2023.1747.
Downloadable list of journals and information at Open Science Foundation
Enter keywords or an entire abstract and JANE will suggest journals by comparing your input to millions of documents in PubMed to find the matching journals.
SPI-Hub - The Vanderbilt Univesity Medical Center's Center for Knowledge Management
This tool attempts to provide authors with information on journal quality, rigor, and transparency to aid informed decision making on publishing venues.
DOAJ - The Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ works to to increase the visibility, accessibility, reputation, usage and impact of quality, peer-reviewed, open access scholarly research journals. Listed journals must meet the DOAJ quality and integrity standards. Look up journals by topic, easlity see Journal processing fees and copyright/reuse policies
Think, Check, Submit
The Think, Check, Submit process will help you discover what you need to know when assessing whether or not a journal is a suitable venue for your research.
Where to Publish Your Research: Identifying Potential Journals
A guide from the Duquesne University Library
Journals accepting case reports. Gotschall T, Spencer A, Hoogland MA, Cortez E, Irish E. Journal of the Medical Library Association. 2023 Oct 2;111(4):819-822. doi: 10.5195/jmla.2023.1747.
Downloadable list of journals and information at Open Science Foundation
John Reynolds
- Reference and Education Librarian
- jxr1327@med.miami.edu
- (305) 243-5439