Researchers

The goals of this guide are to:

• Provide essential information for your research endeavors.
• Help users access essential resources through the Calder Library.

This guide is intended for researchers at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine and the Jackson Health System. It may also be helpful to researchers at other institutions, though some resources are limited to UM/JMH users per licensing agreements.

You may navigate this guide by using the links on the Table of Contents at the left or by using the Tabs on top of each page.

• PubMed Guide
• Scopus Guide
• Scholarly Communications and Open Access Guide

The Research Navigator is a concierge service that connects researchers to the right resources at UM. It is a one-on-one, centralized support service designed to help researchers focus on research, not roadblocks.

• Email: reference@miami.edu
• Phone: 305-243-6648
• Ask a Librarian: http://calder.med.miami.edu/librarianask.html

• Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
  Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a multidisciplinary database that presents statistical data useful for determining the relative importance of journals within 224 predefined subject categories. JCR analyses the importance of journals and compares by categories, groups of journals, publishers, and ranks journals by their impact factor. The database also provides the Eigenfactor score, which is another measure of a journal's importance within fields. The Eigenfactor score and the Article Influence score is calculated based on the citations received over a five year period.
• MyIDP
  myIDP (My Independent Development Plan, from Science Careers) is a unique, web-based career-planning tool tailored to meet the needs of Ph.D. students and postdoctoral fellows in the sciences, from the publishers of the journal Science.
• NIH RePORTER (formerly CRISP)
  
• PubMed
  Database produced by NLM (National Library of Medicine) containing bibliographic references, including abstracts of articles from thousands of bio medical journals.
• PubMed Clinical Queries
  Allows you to quickly focus your PubMed search on clinical studies and systematic reviews. Find out more in our online tutorial.
• Rock Talk Blog: NIH Extramural Nexus
  News from the National Institutes of Health.
• Scopus
  A database of abstracts and citations for scholarly journal articles published since 1996, covering nearly 18,000 titles from the arts, medicine, physical sciences, and the social sciences.
• Web of Science
  The Web of Science is today's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You get integrated access to high quality literature through a unified platform that links a wide variety of content with one seamless search.

• ClinicalTrials.gov
  Government database that contains a registry and results of federally and privately supported clinical trials. The database is useful for patients and families, for researchers, and for study record managers.
• National Science Foundation: A Guide for Proposal Writing
  These suggestions for improving proposals were collected from a variety of sources, including NSF Program Directors, panel reviewers, and successful grantees. While this Guide may provide valuable information for proposal writing in general, it was specifically prepared for programs in Division of Undergraduate Education.
• NIH RePORTER (formerly CRISP)
  
• NIH Strategy for Research Funding (NAIAD)
  To secure funding for an NIH grant, you'll need sound guidance and a solid strategy. The Strategy takes you through all the steps from qualifying for NIH support to staying funded. Even more, it gives you specific "to do's" so you're prepared at every stage. Produced by the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
• UResearch (University of Miami Office of Research)
  UResearch portal is an integrated network of administrative support and educational opportunities to facilitate scholarly activity, scientific discovery, and the responsible conduct of research. Serves the UResearch community in all campuses.

• Data Science at NIH
  The NIH is dedicated to harnessing the potential of the computational and quantitative sciences to elevate the impact and efficiency of biomedical research. NIH efforts in the integration of Data Science with the biomedical sciences are coordinated by the NIH Scientific Data Council and the NIH Office of the Associate Director for Data Science (ADDS). The ADDS office leads the development of the overall NIH vision in Data Science and coordinates across the 27 Institutes and Centers in support of biomedical research as a digital enterprise. This website provides a link for funding opportunities from the Big Data to Knowledge (BD2K) initiative. BD2K is a trans-NIH initiative established to enable biomedical research as a digital research enterprise, to facilitate discovery and support new knowledge, and to maximize community engagement.
• Proposal Development/Funding Opportunities (UM UResearch)
  UResearch provides links to resources to identify funding opportunities for research projects.
• NIH Grants and Funding
  The Office of Extramural Research provides the leadership, oversight, tools and guidance needed to administer and manage NIH grants policies and operations. This website provides guidance on the process of finding grants and funding.
• NIH Guide for Grants and Contracts
  The NIH Guide for Grants and Contracts is the official publication for NIH medical and behavioral research grant policies, guidelines and funding opportunities.
• Grants.gov
  Grants.gov provides an overview of the process to APPLY for federal grants. In order to apply for a grant, you and/or your organization must complete the Grants.gov registration process. SEARCH Grants.gov for your federal grants by keywords or more specific criteria. All discretionary grants offered by the 26 federal grant-making agencies can be found on Grants.gov. You do not have to register with Grants.gov to find grant opportunities.
• GrantForward.com
  Search for funding opportunities spread across 39 subject areas and 2009 categories. Large Database of Sponsors comprising Foundation, Federal and Institutions. Set up alerts and get opportunities delivered straight to your inbox
  
• NIH RePORTER (formerly CRISP)
  
• NIH RePORTER
  NIH RePORTER contains substantive descriptions of biomedical research funded by the Food & Drug Administration & the National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services. Most of the research falls within the broad category of extramural projects, grants, contracts, and cooperative agreements conducted primarily by universities, hospitals, and other research institutions. Information includes an abstract of project, principal investigators, award type & activity, sponsor, & grant amount.

• Google Scholar@UM
  Search Google Scholar with direct links to University of Miami Library Resources. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.  If you are within the UM campus or, if from Scholar Preferences you select the University of Miami Libraries, your Google Scholar results will include direct links to items available at UM.  If this information is in a subscription database, you will be prompted to log in with your CaneID username and password.
• Linked In
  LinkedIn is a business-oriented social networking service. Founded in December 2002 and launched on May 5, 2003, it is mainly used for professional networking. In 2006, LinkedIn increased to 20 million members.
• ORCID
  ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher and, through integration in key research workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, supports automated linkages between you and your professional activities ensuring that your work is recognized.
• ResearchGate
  ResearchGate is a social networking site for scientists and researchers to share papers, ask and answer questions, and find collaborators.
• Scopus
  A database of abstracts and citations for scholarly journal articles published since 1996, covering nearly 18,000 titles from the arts, medicine, physical sciences, and the social sciences.
• Web of Science
  The Web of Science is today's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You get integrated access to high quality literature through a unified platform that links a wide variety of content with one seamless search.

• UResearch (University of Miami Office of Research)
  UResearch portal is an integrated network of administrative support and educational opportunities to facilitate scholarly activity, scientific discovery, and the responsible conduct of research. Serves the UResearch community in all campuses.
• UM Human Subjects Research Office (HSRO & IRB)
  The Human Subject Research Office (HSRO) provides administrative support for the University of Miami institutional review boards (IRBs). An institutional review board is a group of individuals comprised of faculty, staff and community members charged with reviewing proposed research involving human subjects to ensure the protection of those subjects and compliance with applicable federal regulations, state law and institutional policy that govern human subject research.
• A UM Research Compliance & Quality Assurance
  The offices support and help clinical and translational investigators to comply with national and international regulations and guidelines from the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Office for Human Research Protections (OHRP), International Conference on Harmonisation-Good Clinical Practice (ICH-GCP), European Medicines Agency (EMA), as well as state laws and local policies and procedures.
• Office for Human Research Protections - US DHHS
  The Office for Human Research Protections (OHRP) provides leadership in the protection of the rights, welfare, and wellbeing of subjects involved in research conducted or supported by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). OHRP helps ensure this by providing clarification and guidance, developing educational programs and materials, maintaining regulatory oversight, and providing advice on ethical and regulatory issues in biomedical and social-behavioral research.

• EndNote
  A downloadable bibliography and database manager that enables you to collect citation information from databases, websites, and more; organize them; and use them to create bibliographies and in-text citations. The link provided will take you to the University of Miami Information Technology website where you can download EndNote.
• QUOSA User's Guide (Windows Edition)
  QUOSA is an end-to-end solution that can meet your most demanding scientific literature management needs.
• RefWorks
  Note: To access, users must create/log into an individual account. Refworks is a web based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases.

• NIH Public Access Policy
  Offers detailed information to researchers on how to comply with the NIH policy, which requires that the public have access to the published results of NIH-funded research.
  
• PLOS - Public Library of Science
  PLOS (Public Library of Science) is a nonprofit publisher and advocacy organization founded to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
• Scopus Journal Analyzer
  Provides insight into journal performance and compares journal rankings.
• Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
  Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a multidisciplinary database that presents statistical data useful for determining the relative importance of journals within 224 predefined subject categories. JCR analyses the importance of journals and compares by categories, groups of journals, publishers, and ranks journals by their impact factor. The database also provides the Eigenfactor score, which is another measure of a journal's importance within fields. The Eigenfactor score and the Article Influence score is calculated based on the citations received over a five year period.
• Springer Journal Suggester
  Enter your manuscript details to see a list of Springer journals suitable for your research. Filter by open access status, impact factor, and more.

• Samples of Formatted References
  The International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) offers guidance to authors in its publication Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals (ICMJE Recommendations), which was formerly the Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts. The recommended style for references is based on the National Information Standards Organization NISO Z39.29-2005 (R2010) Bibliographic References as adapted by the National Library of Medicine for its databases. Details are in Citing Medicine. (Note Appendix F which covers how citations in MEDLINE/PubMed differ from the advice in Citing Medicine.) Published by the National Library of Medicine.

• A Scopus / Author Search / Citation Overview
• A Web of Science / Author Search / Citation Report
• Google Scholar Citations

• ORCID @ UM
  Information on creating and using an ORCID iD at the University of Miami. Your ORCID iD is a unique identifier for researchers that provides a persistent digital identifier to distinguish you from all other researchers.

• Scholarship@Miami
  The institutional repository and research information hub for the University of Miami. Contains select full text research and scholarly works by faculty, students, and staff at the University of Miami and the Miller School of Medicine. Make your publications widely available (as allowed by your publisher) by placing them on this site.

• My NCBI overview video
• My Bibliography overview video
• Linking eRA Commons accounts to My NCBI
• Managing Compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy: video overview and  instructions
• Collaborating with PIs and Co-Authors to associate papers with NIH grants,  monitor compliance, and simplify reporting
• Using delegates for My Bibliography
• Using My Bibliography to generate the publications section of form PHS 2590
• My NCBI detailed video training excerpted from the January 2013 Webinar

The NIH Manuscript Submission System (NIHMS)

The NIH Manuscript Submission System (NIHMS) is tool for authors and publishers to deposit electronic version of peer-reviewed final manuscripts for inclusion in PubMed Central. Papers in the NIHMS are assigned an identifier (NIHMSID). The NIHMS has an overview, tutorials and an FAQ.