Residents

Welcome to the Guide for Residents!
The goals of this guide are to:
  • Provide a convenient listing of  essential resources services used in clinical practice and research.
  • Help users access these essential resources through the Calder Library.
This guide is intended for UM/JMH faculty and staff as well as trainees during their internships, residencies, and fellowships.

You may navigate this guide by using the links on the Table of Contents at the left or by using the Tabs on top of each page.
New Resources
uSearch

uSearch provides access to:

Electronic Resources:  Find articles, book chapters, books, and more (uSearch-Electronic Resources)

Everything:  Find all electronic and print resources in all UM libraries  (uSearch-Everything)

Library Catalog:  Find print books and more at the Medical Libraries and all UM Libraries!  (uSearch-Library Catalog)
Try it now! 

The e-Books Database is designed to provide quick and easy access to the online book collection.

Guide Editor
Contact Us
University of Miami
Miller School of Medicine
Calder Library
Department of Learning, Research, and Clinical Information Services
Resident Scholarly Activity Program (RSAP)
Finding Your Research Idea
You need to identify a research idea or problem that warrants investigation before you start a research project. You may encounter research problems in various ways:
  • a specific patient's need;
  • a clinical problem;
  • your own interest;
  • suggestions by your colleague/attending/preceptor/mentor;
  • discussion sections in research reports that discuss research limitations, potential problems and questions, and recommendations for further research.
When choosing a research problem to investigate consider the following:
  • Is the research problem clearly defined?
  • Is the research problem important?
  • Is the research problem significant?
  • Is the research problem ethical? 
  • Is the research problem testable with empirical, data-based methods?
  • Do you have the resources and expertise necessary to investigate the problem?
  • Is the research problem related to your professional goals?
Once you identify your research topic, you need to conduct a thorough literature review to answer the following questions:
  • Has any research on the problem been previously conducted?
  • What can your study contribute to what is already been known?
  • What can your study contribute to scholarship or the knowledge base in your field?
  • Are there more important problems?
It is very important to identify appropriate resources and develop skills in searching literature for any information or previous research on a specific topic.
 
Citation Managers
CARE Guidelines for Clinical Case Reports
Journal Articles on Writing Case Reports
Journals Publishing Case Reports
Finding Publishing Options
Open Access Journals
SAMPL guidelines
The SAMPL guidelines are a useful succinct tool for authors of biomedical research papers, journal editors and peer reviewers.
Writing Center
Beginning August 31, 2016, a writing center coach will be available in Dominion Towers:
  • Wednesdays, 1:00 – 4:00 p.m.
  • Thursdays, 12:00 – 3:00 p.m.
Appointments can be made by contacting Eliana Dominguez at edominguez3@med.miami.edu.
Grant Writing Support
The Miami CTSI offers several opportunities to assist and mentor faculty and junior faculty investigators through key stages of the grant writing process. Fill out the online request form and the CTSI faculty will direct you to a service that best fits your needs.
Books

Huth, Edward J. Writing and Publishing in Medicine. Third ed. 1999. Print.


Browner, Warren S., Publishing and Presenting Clinical Research. Second ed. 2006. Web.


Matthews, J., Bowen, J., & Matthews, Robert W. (2000). Successful scientific writing : A step-by-step guide for the biological and medical sciences (Second ed.).
USMLE Practice Exams
Case Files in Access Medicine
A collection of online & audio practice cases. (Requires registration for an individual account for full access.)

USMLE Collection
McGraw-Hill Education eBook Library Medical & USMLE® Test Prep study aids.
USMLE Announcements

Loading ...

Mentoring
Online Resources
Articles on Mentorship
UM Research Data Services
Research Data Management Services at the University of Miami is a set of services provided as a collaboration between the University Libraries, the Office of Research, the Center for Computational Science, and Information Technology.
Funding Agency Policies
Data Standards and Documentation
Avoiding a Data Management Nightmare
Data Management Planning
Data Visualization
Data Repositories
A list of NIH-supported data repositories that accept submissions of appropriate data from NIH-funded investigators. A general purpose repository where users can upload figures, datasets, media, papers, posters, presentations and filesets. A database of research data repositories.
Note: not all of the repositories in this system will allow you to deposit data.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition
PLoS
BioMed Central
Journal Impact Factor
Information on periodicals
Resident Orientation
Internal Web Pages
E-book Collections
Anesthesiology Journals
Websites
Resident Orientation


Please view the powerpoint slides to discover the resources we offer:
OBGYN orientation 2021
Internal Web Pages
Websites
E-book Collections
Obstetrics & Gynecology Journals
Jackson Hospital Resident Orientation
JHS Resident Orientation Video
UM Regional Campuses Resident Orientation
Clinical Decision Support Databases
Here are some of the most used Clinical Decision Support databases used on campus.

Access Medicine: Full-Text Textbooks and other clinical resources.

Clinical Key: Search by entering Topic or Browse: Books, Journals, Drug Information, Practice Guidelines, Patient Education, Clinical Overviews/First Consult.

DynaMed: Clinical reference tool for fast, easy access to point-of-care decision support. Updated several times daily to include information on the latest evidence-based research.

Isabel: Clinical decision support system designed to enhance the quality of diagnosis decision making. For a given set of clinical features, instantly provides a checklist of likely diagnoses including bio-terrorism conditions, related diagnoses and causative drugs.

Psychiatry Online provides authoritative, up-to-date information geared toward psychiatrists, other mental health professionals, psychiatric residents, medical students and the general public.

VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety using an extensive medical image library.

UpToDate: Use to find clinical topics are written by committees of experts in the field.

Mobile apps or mobile enabled websites are available for all these resources.
Bibliographic Databases
Bibliographic databases are used to find high quality, evidenced-based research from reliable sources. The library has access to several of them:

PubMed comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews is the leading journal and database for systematic reviews in health care. It includes Cochrane Reviews (systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials and supplements.

Embase is a multipurpose biomedical research and literature database. It covers international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day, with access to 37 million records from over 8,100 journals and 3.6 million conference abstracts.
CINAHL is a research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. 

Ovid/Medline is MEDLINE on the Ovid platform and offers access to over 23 million of the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals in over 40 languages.

PsycINFO is resource for abstracts and citations of behavioral and social science research.

Web of Science is a multidisciplinary platform covering research across the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities from journals, books and conference proceedings.