Clinical Psychiatry and Psychology

Guide for Clinical Psychiatry & Psychology
The Guide for Clinical Psychiatry and Psychology will provide essential information for practitioners and for trainees during their Internships, Residencies, and Fellowships.

You can navigate this Guide by using the links on the Table of Contents box or by using the Tabs on top.

PowerPoint Slides of Information Resources for Psychology and Psychiatry (2017).

PowerPoint Slides of Applying Evidence-Based Methods in Psychiatry Journal Club: How to Read & Critique Articles (2017).
 
Tutorials
Subject Guide Editor

Carmen Bou-Crick

Need help? Ask an expert.
  • cbou@med.miami.edu
    Carmen Bou-Crick
    Drug Information
    Head, Reference and Education
    Subjects: Drug Information ...
  • znemeth@med.miami.edu
    Reference Librarian and Research Liaison
    Subjects: RefWorks ...
  • k.bartley@med.miami.edu
    Kelsa Bartley
    Consumer Health
    Manager, Reference & Education Services
    Subjects: Consumer Health ...
  • jxr1217@med.miami.edu
    John Reazer
    Medical Students
    Instructional/Reference Services Librarian
    Subjects: Medical Students ...
APA BOOKS

The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry, 6th Edition
Edited by Robert E. Hales, M.D., M.B.A.; Stuart C. Yudofsky, M.D.; Laura Weiss Roberts, M.D., M.A.

The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Psychopharmacology, 4th Edition
Edited by Alan F. Schatzberg, M.D.; Charles B. Nemeroff, M.D., Ph.D.
 
The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Substance Abuse Treatment, 5th Edition
Edited by Marc Galanter, M.D.; Herbert D. Kleber, M.D.; Kathleen T. Brady, M.D., Ph.D.
 
Care of Military Service Members, Veterans, and Their Families
Edited by Stephen J. Cozza, M.D.; Matthew N. Goldenberg, M.D.; Robert J. Ursano, M.D.
 
Clinical Manual of Geriatric Psychiatry
Edited by Mugdha E. Thakur, M.D.; Dan G. Blazer, M.D., Ph.D.; David C. Steffens, M.D., M.H.S.
 
Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Edited by Mina K. Dulcan, M.D.
 
Gabbard's Treatments of Psychiatric Disorders, 5th Edition
Glen O. Gabbard, MD, Editor-in-Chief
 
Integrated Care: Working at the Interface of Primary Care and Behavioral Health
Edited by Lori E. Raney, M.D.
 
Management of Adults With Traumatic Brain Injury
Edited by David B. Arciniegas, M.D.; Nathan D. Zasler, M.D.; Rodney D. Vanderploeg, Ph.D.; Michael S. Jaffee, M.D.; T. Angelita Garcia, M.B.A.
 
Textbook of Psychotherapeutic Treatments
Edited by Glen O. Gabbard, M.D.
 
Textbook of Traumatic Brain Injury, 2nd Edition
Edited by Jonathan M. Silver, M.D.; Thomas W. McAllister, M.D.; Stuart C. Yudofsky, M.D.
 
For the latest additions to the book collection in PsychiatryOnline, GOTO: PsychiatryOnline
PsychiatryOnline

PsychiatryOnline is a a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-V®—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry, as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing. It provides access to the DSM® Library, journals, textbooks, American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines, self-assessment tools for study, clinical and research news from Psychiatric News, and medication information handouts for patients.

GoTo: PsychiatryOnline

Access for authorized users, University of Miami Faculty, Staff, and Students.

DSM LIBRARY
DSM-5®  Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders -5th Edition

The most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. DSM-5® is used by health professionals, social workers,and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders, and is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care.

DSM-5® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis Michael B. First, M.D.

The Handbook helps clinicians and students learning the process of psychiatric diagnosis improve their skill in formulating a comprehensive differential diagnosis by providing a variety of approaches. These include a six-step diagnostic framework, 29 bottom-up “decision trees”, and 66 differential diagnosis tables for use once a tentative diagnosis has been made. It offers a solution to differential diagnosis that recognizes the complexity of human personality and the structural utility of the DSM-5® classification.

DSM-5® Clinical Cases  Edited by John W. Barnhill, M.D.

These cases exemplify the mental disorders categorized in the DSM-5®. Cases are cross-referenced with DSM-5® and help with understanding diagnostic concepts, including symptoms, severity, comorbidities, age of onset and development, dimensionality across disorders, and gender and cultural implications. A brief discussion follows each case, analyzing the clinical presentation, highlighting key points, and exploring issues of comorbidity that may complicate both the diagnosis and subsequent treatment.

Guía de consulta de los criterios diagnósticos del DSM-5®
(Note: this is an abridged Spanish version of the DSM-5)

Esta Guia de Consulta es una pequeña y práctica guía de referencia rápida, que contiene solamente la clasificación DSM-5 (es decir, la lista de trastornos, subtipos, especificadores y códigos de diagnóstico), las partes que explican el uso del manual y los criterios diagnósticos. La Guía de consulta de los criterios diagnósticos del DSM-5 debe usarse junto con el DSM-5 completo. Para usarla correctamente es necesario familiarizarse con las descripciones escritas de cada trastorno que acompañan al conjunto de criterios.

Previous Editions of DSM

Previous editions of DSM are included in the Legacy Collection for reference and archival purposes. Each edition is provided in Adobe’s Portable Document Format (PDF).

GoTo: PsychiatryOnline

 

APA Practice Guidelines

APA Practice Guidelines

American Psychiatric Association (APA) practice guidelines provide evidence-based recommendations for the assessment and treatment of psychiatric disorders.

Patient Education

PATIENT EDUCATION

What Your Patients Need to Know About Psychiatric Medications

Robert H. Chew, Pharm.D., Robert E. Hales, M.D., M.B.A., and Stuart C. Yudofsky, M.D.

Helping Parents, Youth, and Teachers Understand Medications for Behavioral and Emotional Problems: 
A Resource Book of Medication Information Handouts

Edited by Mina K. Dulcan, M.D.

Let's Talk Facts

Designed for lay readers, each Let's Talk Facts pamphlet contains an overview of a psychiatric illness, its syptoms and common treatments, and where to turn for more help.

 

 

Finding Books & e-Books

American Psychiatric Association

American Psychological Association

uSearch (use boxes below)

uSearch is the University of Miami Integrated Library System Discovery Tool.  Use uSearch to find electronic and print resources from all University of Miami libraries.  A search for Electronic Resources will find online resources available to all University of Miami libraries.

A search on the Library Catalog will find print, digital, and other resources located at all University of Miami libraries, including Richter, Law, RSMAS, Music, and other campus libraries and collections.  To find resources at the Medical Libraries, use the drop down arrow to select Medical Libraries.  Medical Libraries include Calder Library, Ophthalmology Library, and UMH Library. 

Electronic resources can be accessed automatically from anywhere on campus and remotely by using the University of Miami single sign-on authentication with a CaneID and Password.  Instructions are available on the Calder Library website (see Remote Access).

e-Books

e-Book packages include:

 

uSearch: Find print and electronic resources at the University of Miami Libraries



More Options





Finding Journals
uSearch: Find print and electronic resources at the University of Miami Libraries



More Options





Finding Tests and Questionnaires
Blogs and Newsletters
Tutorials
Guide for Online Tutorials

The Guide to Online Tutorials offers links to multiple webinars, YouTube videos, and library-created classes that have been recorded.

Visit the Guide to Online Tutorials at:
http://spmed.library.miami.edu/subjects/guide.php?subject=onlinetutorials