Video and Image Databases

Calder Medical Library's Resource Guide for Video and Image Databases

Welcome to the Calder Medical Library Resource Guide for Video and Image Databases.

This guide is designed to provide easy access to databases and websites that have video and image resources.

We hope you find this page useful! 

Welcome to Calder Medical Library

calder-library.jpg

The University of Miami's Louis Calder Memorial Library is the place to find authoritative, current, and relevant information for patient care, research, and education.

Bio

Kelsa Bartley

I currently work at the Calder Medical Library at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine in Miami, FL. I'm pursuing my Masters of Science in Information at Florida Stae University. My undergrad degree is a BFA in Photography, so I would like to blend my medical librarianship experiences with my need for creative outlets.  

I'm interested in the promotion of health library services and resources. I enjoy creating graphics, posters and flyers and I also have a strong interest in social media and mobile technology. I also enjoy teaching and learning new skills. I plan to continue exploring medical library promotion and marketing as well as teaching information literacy as a career path.

Videos in Access Medicine are located under the Multimedia category:
 

 





Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. 
The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
 
Physical Examination Videos
Watch a full volume or view chapter-by-chapter.
 
Designed to help prepare for Objective Structured Clinical Examinations (OSCE) by testing clinical reasoning skills.

 


ClinicalKey has many video resourses located in various parts of the database:
 
Multimedia
In the Multimedia section, search for Videos under the Media Type dropdown on the left.
 
Browse the list of procedure videos by specialty or in alphabetical order.

Search the Entire Database
Type in the word Videos in the search box for all the material in ClinicalKey that has related video content.
Results can then be filtered by Source Type, Specialties, or Date.

 



The HSTalks Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection has over 2,000 lectures from leading world experts, including Nobel Laureates, covering the fundamentals and the latest research and development.

Browse lectures by category or therapeutic area
 
 



JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) creates and publishes videos of scientific experiments from the top laboratories around the globe. JoVE's Video Journal publishes the leading peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video methods journal. Articles consist of high-quality video demonstrations and detailed text protocols which facilitate scientific reproducibility and productivity. 

University of Miami has full access to the following JoVE specialties:
 
 
 
Lynda.com offers  6,374 courses in Business, Technology and Creative Skills taught by industry experts. Find videos on IT, web development, design, photography, video, 3D animation, marketing, education and elearning. Sign in with you Cane ID and password for unlimited access.
 
 


Mango Languages prepares learners for realistic conversations and strengthens everyday communication skills in over 70 world languages. Medical Spanish is also one of the cources under the Latin American Spanish tab. Movies are included as part of the learning process.
 


 




MedOne Neurosurgery is a database by Thieme for neurosurgery content including e-books, journals and procedures. Find videos by clicking the Media tab on the left, filter by selecting video from the Audio/Image/Video tab, then use the search box at the top look for specific topics.

Start searching for videos on MedOne Neurosurgery

 



NEJM Resident 360 helps residents prepare for their next rotation quickly and efficiently, provides support for coping with the pressures of resident life, and equips them to take the next major step in their career.
 
Explore the video educational features in Learning Lab:

NEJM Quick Take Videos
New research findings summarized in short videos.

Interactive Medical Cases
 


Images in Access Medicine are located under the Multimedia category:
 
Female Reproductive System Module

 



 
ClinicalKey has many image resourses located in various parts of the database:
 
Multimedia
In the Multimedia section, search for Images under the Media Type dropdown on the left.
 
Procedures Consult
Browse the list of procedures by specialty or in alphabetical order to find revelant images

Search the Entire Database
Typing in the word Images in the search box will show all the material in ClinicalKey that may have image content.
Results can then be filtered by Source Type (chose Images), Specialties or by Date.

 





DynaMed Plus search results include visual content such as images, algorithms, and other content relevant to a topic.

Search DynaMed Plus for Images by Topic

 


 


MedPix is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images. Produced by the National Library of Medicine.
 

VisualDx is a clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety. 
Using the world's best medical images, clinicians can build a custom differential diagnosis across general medicine or use the powerful search function to access patient-specific clinical information. Visual Dx is also integrated into the Up-To-Date database.
 
Enter a Symptom, Medication or Diagnosis to access images

 




MedOne Neurosurgery is a database by Thieme for neurosurgery content including e-books, journals and procedures. Find images by clicking the Media tab on the left, filter by selecting Image from the Audio/Image/Video tab, then use the search box at the top look for specific topics.

Start searching for images on MedOne Neurosurgery

 


NEJM Resident 360 helps residents prepare for their next rotation quickly and efficiently, provides support for coping with the pressures of resident life, and equips them to take the next major step in their career.
 
Find Images using the Learning Lab:

Images in Clinical Medicine

Test Your Skills: Image Challenge
Interactive tools hone diagnostic skills
 


NEJM Resident 360 helps residents prepare for their next rotation quickly and efficiently, provides support for coping with the pressures of resident life, and equips them to take the next major step in their career.
 
Find audio resources in the Learning Lab:

Curbside Consults
A deep dive with clinician experts and educators.