uSearch Help Manual

What's new in uSearch?
The newest vesion of the uSearch software has a new user interface (UI).  Here is some information about what is new, and what remains the same.

Results and ranking are the same.

Tabs and scopes for limiting your search are now integrated into the search box. Start typing, and the options for limiting your search will appear below:



For a search on "Residency Training," you have three options to search in when using the Medical Campus uSearch interface:  Electronic ResourcesLibrary Catalog, or Everything


Search for: Electronic Resources
Search for Electronic Resources on the topic of  "Residency Training":  Results are shown in two panes.  The right pane is shown below with a list of results.  Use the Pin to select each item to save in your account.  You may also click on "Save Query" to save this search strategy. 



On the left side there is a list of filters that can be used to refine search results.  You can also sort by Relevance, Date-Newest, Author, or Title.  Other filters include:  Date, Subject, Author/Creator, Resource Type, Databases, Language, Journal Title, Classification, or display only new records added recently.  Click on the arrows to expand the sections.

Search for: Library Catalog
Search for Cardiology in Library Catalog:



List of Results:
Each citation will include Call Number and Location.  




Click on the book title to see more information about the book and options to request the item if available:

Search for: Everything
Search for the topic of Neurology in Everything.  This will retrieve all resources in all UM libraries.



This search will retrieve books, journal articles, and other types of materials in print, electronic, and any other formats.  A link to online access will be provided if available.  For print books, the call number and location will be provided.  At the Medical Library the books stacks are located on the third floor of the library.



To see more, click on any title.  Click on Neurology (Online) to see more about this journal.  A link to acces full-text is provided.

Sign in to see your Favorite Citations
Sign in with your CaneID and Password



After you sign in with your CaneID and Password your name will show on the top right corner of uSearch.  When you sign in you can save citations to your favorites by clicking on the Pin icon on each citation.  Too see all your favorite citations, just click on the Pin on top, next to your name.



The Favorites are your saved records.  You can access full text from this list. You can also see your Saved Searches and look at the Search History of your last search.

Subject Guide Editor

Carmen Bou-Crick

This Help Manual contains information on the following topics:
  • New uSearch User Interface Instructions (New uSearch Tab)
  • Accessing Library Resources (Access Tab)
  • Performing Basic Searches (Search Tab)
  • Browsing Topics (Browse Tab)
  • My Library Account (Sign In Tab)
  • Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs Tab)
Click on the Tabs on top of this guide or the Table of Contents to access different sections of the manual.  
For a similar PDF version of this document click here.

To contact a librarian for assistance, please call or email: 
 
Medical Library Access Services/Information Desk:  305-243-6403 or circulation@med.miami.edu
 
Medical Library Reference:  305-243-6648 or reference@med.miami.edu







 
Access Information


Accessing Full-Text Materials

Access to full-text materials should be automatic from any computer in an office located on the Medical Campus.  Remote access is available by “Sign In” with CaneID and Password.  This is applicable to all UM-affiliated persons.  Jackson Health System employees, including residents, need to follow instructions provided below.   

Need a CaneID?

Persons with an affiliation with the University of Miami usually have a CaneID and C-Number.  To find out if you have one (or to apply for one), please go to: https://caneidhelp.miami.edu/caneid/.  
 
Issues with the CaneID?

If you have any issues with your CaneID or password, please contact the University of Miami Information Technology  (UM IT) Help Desk at 305-243-5999 or help@miami.edu.
 

Jackson Memorial Hospital Residents and Staff
 
Jackson Memorial Hospital residents and staff can obtain a restricted-use CaneID for remote access to Library electronic resources.  After you obtain a CaneID and C-Number, please contact the Access Services Desk at Calder Library to register for remote access to e-resources.  If you are already registered with a bar code, you need to obtain a CaneID and C-Number and provide this information to the Access Services Desk.  For additional information, please call 305-243-6403, email circulation@med.miami.edu, or visit the library, located at 1601 N.W. 10th Ave., Miami, FL 33136.
 
Remote Access
 
Authorized persons can access resources remotely with their CaneID and password.  
 
Contact Information: 
 
Calder Medical Library Access Services Desk:  305-243-6403 or circulation@med.miami.edu
 
Calder Medical Library Reference:  305-243-6648 or reference@med.miami.edu

Welcome to uSearch Online Help
for Medical Libraries

Note:  For information about the new User Interface to be launched on June 28, 2018, click on the New UI tab.


The uSearch online help contains information on the following topics.  Use the Tabs on top to navigate the different parts of this guide:
  • Performing Searches
  • Using Browse
  • Sign In to My Account & e-Shelf
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • New User Interface (will start on June 28, 2018)
For the PDF version of the Help Manual click here.

Performing Basic Searches

You can find resources very easily in uSearch. Just type one or more words you are looking for into the search box and click the Search button.

The Electronic Resources tab will give you journal articles, book chapters, and other online resources in all UM digital collections.

The Library Catalog tab searches for books and all other materials housed at the Medical Libraries (Calder Library, Ophthalmology Library, and University of Miami Hospital/UMH Library) or, searches a specific medical library collection.

The Everything tab will search for journal articles, books, e-books, audiovisual materials, and all resources in all UM libraries.

Once you are familiar with the basics of uSearch, you might want to try doing more with the Search panel or use the Advanced Search option. Both of these options offer numerous features for making your searches more precise and enable you to get results that are more useful.
 
How Can I Do More with the Search Panel?

You can do more than just a simple search with the Search panel. Try the following search options to get the best results for your search:
  • Searching for a Phrase
  • Searching for Any Specified Words or Phrases
  • Excluding Words or Phrases
  • Searching Using Wildcard Characters
  • Grouping Terms Within a Query
  • Expand Search Beyond UM
Searching for a Phrase

To search for a phrase, type quotation marks around the phrase. You can combine both words and phrases in your search or you can use the middle drop down menu and select “with my exact phrase.”



If you do not use the exact phrase options, the system will find items that contain the individual words in the phrase, regardless of whether these words are located next to each other in the order specified.  In the example above, we typed "global warming" and selected "with my exact phrase" from the drop down box in the middle section under the Search box.

Searching for Any Specified Words or Phrases

You can search for items that contain at least one of the words or phrases you type in the Search box. To do so, type OR (in all capitals) between the words or phrases.
For example, to search for items with the word Irish or the word Celtic, type the following in the search box:




If you search for words or phrases without specifying OR or NOTuSearch assumes that you are searching for all the specified words or phrases.

Excluding Words or Phrases

You can exclude items that contain specific words or phrases. To do so, type NOT (in all capitals) and then type the word or phrase to exclude.
For example, to search for items with the word Celtic and exclude any of these items with the word Irish, type the following in the search box:


If you search for words or phrases without specifying OR or NOTuSearch assumes that you are searching for all the specified words or phrases.

Searching Using Wildcard Characters

You can include the following wildcard characters in your searches:
  • ?—enter a question mark to perform a single character wildcard search. For example, type wom?n to search for records that contain the strings woman, women, and so forth.
  • *—enter and asterisk to perform a multiple character wildcard search. For example, type cultur* to search for records that contain strings, such as culture, cultural, and culturally.
 The system ignores wildcard characters placed at the beginning of search terms.
 
Grouping Terms Within a Query

You can use parentheses to group terms within a query. For example, to search for Freud and either lectures or letters, type the following in the search box:


Expand Search Beyond UM

When doing a search in the All Resources tab, you can click on the “Expand beyond UM” limiter on the left after running a search.  This link will expand your search results to materials that may be in another library or electronic resources not currently licensed by UM.  You can then order the materials through Interlibrary Loan.  You need to Sign In to use the Interlibrary Loan request option.



Accessing Full-Text Materials

When you are on campus, you will be able to access full-text materials automatically from any Medical Campus building.  When you are off campus, you can “Sign In” with your CaneID and Password to access full-text resources. 

Need a CaneID? 

Persons with an affiliation with the University of Miami can obtain a CaneID and C-Number, by going to: https://caneidhelp.miami.edu/caneid/ 

Issues with the CaneID? 

If you have any issues with your CaneID or password, please contact the Help Desk (UM IT) at 305-243-5999 or help@miami.edu.
 
Jackson Memorial Hospital Residents and Staff
 
Jackson Memorial Hospital residents and staff can obtain a restricted-use CaneID for remote access to Library electronic resources.  After you obtain a CaneID and C-Number, please contact the Information Services Desk at Calder Library to register for remote access to e-resources.  If you are already registered with a bar code, you need to obtain a CaneID and C-Number and provide this information to the Information Services Desk.  For additional information call 305-243-6403, email circulation@med.miami.edu, or visit the library, located at 1601 N.W. 10th Ave., Miami, FL 33136.
 
Remote Access
 
Authorized persons who are not on campus can access resources remotely with their CaneID and password.  See instructions above under “Need a CaneID?”
 
Contact Information:  
 
Calder Medical Library Circulation/Information Desk:  305-243-6403 or circulation@med.miami.edu
 
Calder Medical Library Reference:  305-243-6648 or reference@med.miami.edu





 
Browse
Using Browse

The Browse search allows you to browse library material (local material only) in order to find information of relevance quickly. You can browse material by subject, author, title, call number, LC Call number, and SUDOC number. In the results, you can click an underlined entry to see its associated records.  Below are results for “Browse” on the “Subject” coffee.




To access Browse, click the Browse Search link next to the simple search box, as shown below.

Sign In
My Account

My Account enables you to view the contents of your library patron account and perform library services, such as renewing a book or canceling a request. In addition, it lets you define your personal uSearch settings. To access My Account, click the My Account link, which appears at the top of each page in uSearch.


Why Should You Sign In?

When you sign into uSearch, you are able to do the following:
  • Set preferences for your current and future sessions. You can set your preferences so that they reflect the way you usually search, and save them for future sessions.
  • Add items you found and queries you submitted permanently to your basket. You can save items from your results list to your basket and you can save queries that you have performed for future use.
  • Set alerts for your queries. You can set a query to become an alert, that is, to run automatically and send you email notification once it locates new items answering your search criteria.
  • Access external licensed resources. The institution offers licensed information resources to its users. Once you sign in, you can search and retrieve items from these additional resources. Due to publisher licensing restrictions, some content is only viewable in search results when you are logged in.
  • Use library services. You can benefit from library services such as requesting or recalling items.
 
Why Should You Sign Out?

You should sign out of uSearch so that your searches remain private and your personal settings and basket are not tampered with by anyone else.

Personal Settings

You can tailor the uSearch user interface so that it reflects the way you usually search. For example, from your uSearch account you can specify the maximum numbers of search results per page.  From the “Personalize your results” option you can set preferred disciplines to boost relevancy of results and/or rank materials with newer publication dates higher in your results.  To set your preferences, click the Personal Settings option on the left side of My Account. To keep your settings for future sessions, you must sign in and save your preferences.
 
Using e-Shelf

e-Shelf allows you to save and organize items that you find during your search session. To access e-Shelf, click the e-Shelf link at the top of the page.
 
Saving Items to e-Shelf

When you select the Star icon for an item in the search results, the system highlights the icon and adds the item to the Basket folder in e-Shelf.  You must sign in to save items in e-Shelf for future sessions.





Removing Items from e-Shelf

To remove an item from e-Shelf, select the items and click on "X".




For more information on removing items from e-Shelf, see Managing Items.
 
Viewing Items Saved in e-Shelf

To view items that are saved in e-Shelf, click the Basket folder or any of its subfolders. From the list of items, click the item that you want to display.
 
Accessing Full-Text Materials

When you are on campus, you will be able to access full-text materials automatically from any Medical Campus building.  When you are off campus, you can “Sign In” with your CaneID and Password to access full-text resources. 

Need a CaneID? 

Persons with an affiliation with the University of Miami can obtain a CaneID and C-Number, by going to: https://caneidhelp.miami.edu/caneid/ 

Issues with the CaneID? 

If you have any issues with your CaneID or password, please contact the Help Desk (UM IT) at 305-243-5999 or help@miami.edu.
 
Jackson Memorial Hospital Residents and Staff
 
Jackson Memorial Hospital residents and staff can obtain a restricted-use CaneID for remote access to Library electronic resources.  After you obtain a CaneID and C-Number, please contact the Information Services Desk at Calder Library to register for remote access to e-resources.  If you are already registered with a bar code, you need to obtain a CaneID and C-Number and provide this information to the Information Services Desk.  For additional information call 305-243-6403, email circulation@med.miami.edu, or visit the library, located at 1601 N.W. 10th Ave., Miami, FL 33136.
 
Remote Access
 
Authorized persons who are not on campus can access resources remotely with their CaneID and password.  See instructions above under “Need a CaneID?”
 
Contact Information:  
 
Calder Medical Library Access Services Information Desk:  305-243-6403 or circulation@med.miami.edu
 

Calder Medical Library Reference:  305-243-6648 or reference@med.miami.edu
Try uSearch: Electronic Resources (Enter your keywords in the text box and click Search)



More Options





Try uSearch: Library Catalog (Select Library Catalog from the Drop Down List)



More Options





Try uSearch: Everything (Select Everything from the Drop Down List)



More Options