History of Consumer Health at Louis Calder Memorial Library
This electronic library is dedicated to the memory of Ellen Gartenfeld (1938-1984), a librarian who devoted her career to providing health information to those in need.
Ellen Gartenfeld (1938-1984) established the first Consumer Health Information Network (CHIN) at Mount Auburn Hospital in Cambridge, Massachussetts. Although planning for the network began in 1974, before the 1975 Patientâs Bill of Rights of the American Hospital Association in 1974; CHIN began functioning in 1977 when Ellen joined the network as its coordinator. Ellenâs innovative library program was based on the simple proposition that the informed consumer will benefit by way of better health and medical care. Her publications included articles on CHIN in the October 1, 1978 Library Journal, the July 1981 Bulletin of the Medical Library Association and the 1982 book Developing Consumer Health Information Services, edited by Alan Rees and published by Bowker.
In 1985, the Louis Calder Memorial Library and the Medical School Auxiliary launched the Ellen Gartenfeld Health Information Network (EGHIN) with August LaRocco as network coordinator. Ellenâs mother and aunt were members of the Auxiliary and Ellen was a friend and colleague of then Library Director Henry L. Lemkau, Jr. Gus LaRocco published articles on EGHIN in the 1991 book Managing Consumer Health Information Services and the January 1994 Bulletin of the Medical Library Association. Henry Lemkau wrote Ellenâs obituary for the Bulletin of the Medical Library Association which appeared in the January 1985 issue.
Welcome to Calder Medical Library
The University of Miami's Louis Calder Memorial Library is the place to find authoritative, current, and relevant information for patient care, research, and education.
DoctorFinder Produced by the American Medical Association. Search and browse for physicians by name/speciality. Listings include name, specialty, and contact information. If the physician is an American Medical Association (AMA) member, listings may also include gender, medical school, residency training, professional activities, map of office location, office hours, and insurance information.
Drug Information Portal (NLM) This database provides more than 12,000 drug records from NLM and other key government agencies. Free government database.
Pillbox A resource for rapid identification of unknown solid-dosage medications (tablets/capsules) based on physical characteristics and high-resolution image.
DailyMed DailyMed provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs in the United States. DailyMed is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts). This Web site provides a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts.
TOXNET Hazardous Substance Data Bank (HSDB) Focusing on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals, this peered reviewed toxicology data file provides records for more than 5,000 chemicals. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it offers information on human exposure, emergency handling procedures, guidelines, regulatory requirements, etc. At the HSDB site, users can conduct a search on important toxicology databases, such as TOXLINE, HAZ-MAP, Household Products, GENE-TOX, and more.
Calder Library Services
Sign-up for a Seminar Calder Library resources, consultations, group training and seminars are free to authorized users. Please provide your UM/JMH e-mail to confirm that you are an authorized user.
Ask the Calder Reference Librarians a Question This service is intended for factual, unambiguous general questions and is restricted to the UM/JMH community: faculty, staff, students and affiliated users. However, inquiries from the general public about resources, services, or collections at the Louis Calder Memorial Library are welcome. We try to respond to all requests within 2 working days.