Database List By Format: Articles

AccessScience

Articles and research reviews covering all major scientific disciplines and encompassing the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology, plus definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms.

African Index Medicus

In order to give access to health information published in or related to Africa and to encourage local publishing, the World Health Organization, in collaboration with the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA), has produced an international index to African health literature and information sources.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: EPC Evidence-Based Reports

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) reports provide comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new healthcare technologies and strategies. These reports may be used for informing and developing coverage decisions, quality measures, educational materials and tools, clinical practice guidelines, and research agendas.

AGRICOLA

Index to National Agricultural Library's international journals, theses, patents, computer software, and technical reports in agriculture and related fields. This database includes but is not limited to resources available in the NAL, and contains 5,200,000+ records including printed works dating back to the 15th century.

Bacteriology Abstracts

Abstracts of medically-oriented clinical and research literature in bacteriology. This index is a subfile of the Environmental Science Index.

BioMed Central

Independent open access publisher committed to providing free full-text access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.

Biosis Previews & Biological Abstracts

Citations and abstracts to items in journals and other publications, published since 1980, and to unique research findings not yet published in the journal literature since 1989, accessible via Ovid.

CINAHL Plus

Primary index to the international literature of nursing and health. CINAHL Plus provides a wide scope of nursing and allied health journals as well as a high number of records, full-text, and cited references. In addition, it provides full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.

ClinicalKey

ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge.

EBSCOHost

The EBSCOHost service provides gateway access to a number of searchable databases including Academic Search Elite, Business Source Premier, SPORTDiscus, The Serials Directory, NTIS, and Professional Development Collection.

Embase

EMBASE, from Elsevier Life Sciences Solutions, provides extensive coverage of international biomedical journals and conferences and is a key resource for generating systematic reviews, making informed decisions in evidence-based medicine, and for post-market surveillance of drugs and medical devices.

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text educational literature and resources. Essential for education researchers of all kinds, it features journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.

ERIC contains more than 1.5 million records and links to more than 336,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more.

Florida Electronic Library

A whole array of interdisciplinary electronic resources freely accessible within Florida. Note: Requires login with a Florida Public Access library card barcode number.

Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts

Full-text of biomedical and health care clinical practice guidelines, consumer health brochures, evidence reports, and other resources prepared by the National Institutes of Health.

Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest)

ProQuest Health Management is a comprehensive full-text database covering a wide range of health topics, including global public health, health administration, healthcare workers, hospitals, statistics, policy, finance and more.

Index Cat

IndexCat is a database containing the bibliographic citations of all five printed series of the Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office; with direct access to the National Library of Medicine (NLM) online catalog, LocatorPlus. It also contains eTK for citations to medieval Latin texts and eVK2 for medieval English texts.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

ICPSR is the world's largest archive of research and instructional data in the social sciences. Data collections available for secondary analysis include national opinion polls, attitude surveys, census and economic data.

Interdok Directory of Published Proceedings

Database of > 50,000 records.

Isabel

Isabel is an award-winning, clinical decision support system designed to enhance the quality of diagnosis decision making. Its unique feature is a diagnosis reminder system.For a given set of clinical features Isabel instantly provides a checklist of likely diagnoses including bio-terrorism conditions, related diagnoses and causative drugs. Subscription database for authorized UM/JMH users.

Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence Based Practice (EBP) Database

The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform your practice. This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.

Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings on librarianship and information retrieval and management.

LILACS (Latin America and the Caribbean Health Sciences Literature)

The most important and comprehensive index of scientific and technical literature of Latin America and the Caribbean. For 30 years contributing to increased visibility, access and quality of health information in the region.

MDCalc

Home to over 100 clinical-decision tools that are widely used by physicians and medical students.

MEDLINE (EBSCO)

Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.

MEDLINE (ProQuest)

Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.

MEDLINE (Web of Science)

Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.

Micromedex

MICROMEDEX is a collection of many different drug databases, including Martindale, the Physician's Desk Reference (PDR), DRUGDEX, DISEASEDEX, POSIONDEX, and several alternative medicine databases.

National Library of Medicine (NLM)

The NLM is a leader in research in biomedical informatics and data science and the world’s largest biomedical library. NLM conducts and supports research in methods for recording, storing, retrieving, preserving, and communicating health information.

NIH Locator Plus Catalog

The LocatorPlus Catalog provides access to National Library of Medicine bibliographic data for journals, books, audiovisuals, computer software, electronic resources and other materials.

NIH RePORTER

NIH RePORTER contains substantive descriptions of biomedical research funded by the Food & Drug Administration & the National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services.

Most of the research falls within the broad category of extramural projects, grants, contracts, and cooperative agreements conducted primarily by universities, hospitals, and other research institutions. Information includes an abstract of project, principal investigators, award type & activity, sponsor, & grant amount.

Nucleic Acids Abstracts

Covers cloning and sequencing strategies as well as gene regulatory sequences and proteins, RNA processing and transport, RNA editing, DNA biosynthesis, transcription factors and oncoproteins.

Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM)

OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes that is freely available and updated daily. OMIM is authored and edited at the McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, under the direction of Dr. Ada Hamosh.

Orpha.net

The portal for rare diseases and orphan drugs.

OVID (MEDLINE)

Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.

Ovid Gateway

Provides access to a variety of databases indexing the literature of art, biomedicine, music and philosophy. Services currently include Biological Abstracts, CINAHL, Journal@OVID fulltext, Medline and CANCERLIT.

PapersFirst

PapersFirst is a multidisciplinary index to papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia.

PDQ: National Cancer Institute

PDQ (Physician Data Query) is NCI's comprehensive source of cancer information. It contains cancer information summaries on a wide range of cancer topics; drug information summaries on many cancer-related drugs and drug combinations; and dictionaries of general cancer terms, drug terms, and genetics terms.

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection

Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine covers the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.

Proceedings First

Proceedings First is a multidisciplinary index of published meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia worldwide.

Protein Clusters

This collection of related protein sequences (clusters) consists of proteins derived from the annotations of whole genomes, organelles and plasmids. It currently limited to Archaea, Bacteria, Plants, Fungi, Protozoans, and Viruses

PsycCRITIQUES 1956-2017 (via Portico)

Full-text book reviews featuring current scholarly and professional books in psychology. Includes reviews from a psychological perspective of popular films and trade books from 1956 through 2017.

PsychiatryOnline

A powerful web-based portal that features DSM-5—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing. It provides access to the DSM® Library, Journals, Textbooks, American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines, self-assessment tools for study, clinical and research news from Psychiatric News, and medication information handouts for patients. Useful for searching information on psychiatric medications. Subscription database with access for authorized UM/JMH users.

PsycINFO

Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.

PTSDpubs

This database, formerly called PILOTS, is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. The database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma. Coverage: 1871 - current

PubMed

Database produced by NLM (National Library of Medicine) containing bibliographic references, including abstracts of articles from thousands of bio medical journals.

Science Careers

Jobs in Science & Technology from Science Careers

Science Citation Index Expanded

Accessed through the Web of Science Citation Databases services.

Science Signaling

Science Signaling provides instant access to the concepts and methods leading to breakthroughs in signal transduction.

Scopus

A database of abstracts and citations for scholarly journal articles published since 1996, covering nearly 18,000 titles from the arts, medicine, physical sciences, and the social sciences.

Social Care Online

The UK’s largest database of information and research on all aspects of social care and social work.

SPIE Digital Library

SPIE Digital Library includes resource on optics and photonics, providing access to more than 260,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new research papers are added annually.

SPORTDiscus with Full text

Database of Sports literature; journal coverage is 1975 - present; books and theses is 1949 to present. Access within UM IP domain.

SUMSearch

SUMSearch is a metasearch engine that provides references to answer clinical questions. Simultaneously searches multiple sources of high quality with emphasis on evidence-based medicine

Toxicology Abstracts

Toxicology Abstracts indexes journal articles that cover a broad range of issues including toxicity testing methodology, substance abuse, natural toxins, legislation and recommended standards, and environmental issues.

UpToDate

Clinical decision support tool designed to answer clinical questions that arise in daily practice. Subscription database with access for UM/JMH authorized users.

Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository

This is a database of ongoing nursing research, searchable by conference abstract, researcher, keyword (study title and/or indexing keywords), or study.

Virology and AIDS Abstracts

Indexes and abstracts international literature of virology in humans, animals, and plants with topics ranging from replication cycles to oncology.

Web of Science

The Web of Science is today's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You get integrated access to high quality literature through a unified platform that links a wide variety of content with one seamless search.

WorldCat

WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.

- New Databases -

- Database Trials -

	AccessScience Articles and research reviews covering all major scientific disciplines and encompassing the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology, plus definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms.
	African Index Medicus In order to give access to health information published in or related to Africa and to encourage local publishing, the World Health Organization, in collaboration with the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA), has produced an international index to African health literature and information sources.
	Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: EPC Evidence-Based Reports The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) reports provide comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new healthcare technologies and strategies. These reports may be used for informing and developing coverage decisions, quality measures, educational materials and tools, clinical practice guidelines, and research agendas.
	AGRICOLA Index to National Agricultural Library's international journals, theses, patents, computer software, and technical reports in agriculture and related fields. This database includes but is not limited to resources available in the NAL, and contains 5,200,000+ records including printed works dating back to the 15th century.
	Bacteriology Abstracts Abstracts of medically-oriented clinical and research literature in bacteriology. This index is a subfile of the Environmental Science Index.
	BioMed Central Independent open access publisher committed to providing free full-text access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.
	Biosis Previews & Biological Abstracts Citations and abstracts to items in journals and other publications, published since 1980, and to unique research findings not yet published in the journal literature since 1989, accessible via Ovid.
	CINAHL Plus Primary index to the international literature of nursing and health. CINAHL Plus provides a wide scope of nursing and allied health journals as well as a high number of records, full-text, and cited references. In addition, it provides full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
	ClinicalKey ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge.
	EBSCOHost The EBSCOHost service provides gateway access to a number of searchable databases including Academic Search Elite, Business Source Premier, SPORTDiscus, The Serials Directory, NTIS, and Professional Development Collection.
	Embase EMBASE, from Elsevier Life Sciences Solutions, provides extensive coverage of international biomedical journals and conferences and is a key resource for generating systematic reviews, making informed decisions in evidence-based medicine, and for post-market surveillance of drugs and medical devices.
	ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text educational literature and resources. Essential for education researchers of all kinds, it features journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than 1.5 million records and links to more than 336,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more.
	Florida Electronic Library A whole array of interdisciplinary electronic resources freely accessible within Florida. Note: Requires login with a Florida Public Access library card barcode number.
	Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts Full-text of biomedical and health care clinical practice guidelines, consumer health brochures, evidence reports, and other resources prepared by the National Institutes of Health.
	Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) ProQuest Health Management is a comprehensive full-text database covering a wide range of health topics, including global public health, health administration, healthcare workers, hospitals, statistics, policy, finance and more.
	Index Cat IndexCat is a database containing the bibliographic citations of all five printed series of the Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office; with direct access to the National Library of Medicine (NLM) online catalog, LocatorPlus. It also contains eTK for citations to medieval Latin texts and eVK2 for medieval English texts.
	Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) ICPSR is the world's largest archive of research and instructional data in the social sciences. Data collections available for secondary analysis include national opinion polls, attitude surveys, census and economic data.
	Interdok Directory of Published Proceedings Database of > 50,000 records.
	Isabel Isabel is an award-winning, clinical decision support system designed to enhance the quality of diagnosis decision making. Its unique feature is a diagnosis reminder system.For a given set of clinical features Isabel instantly provides a checklist of likely diagnoses including bio-terrorism conditions, related diagnoses and causative drugs. Subscription database for authorized UM/JMH users.
	Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence Based Practice (EBP) Database The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform your practice. This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
	Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA) LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings on librarianship and information retrieval and management.
	LILACS (Latin America and the Caribbean Health Sciences Literature) The most important and comprehensive index of scientific and technical literature of Latin America and the Caribbean. For 30 years contributing to increased visibility, access and quality of health information in the region.
	MDCalc Home to over 100 clinical-decision tools that are widely used by physicians and medical students.
	MEDLINE (EBSCO) Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.
	MEDLINE (ProQuest) Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.
	MEDLINE (Web of Science) Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.
	Micromedex MICROMEDEX is a collection of many different drug databases, including Martindale, the Physician's Desk Reference (PDR), DRUGDEX, DISEASEDEX, POSIONDEX, and several alternative medicine databases.
	National Library of Medicine (NLM) The NLM is a leader in research in biomedical informatics and data science and the world’s largest biomedical library. NLM conducts and supports research in methods for recording, storing, retrieving, preserving, and communicating health information.
	NIH Locator Plus Catalog The LocatorPlus Catalog provides access to National Library of Medicine bibliographic data for journals, books, audiovisuals, computer software, electronic resources and other materials.
	NIH RePORTER NIH RePORTER contains substantive descriptions of biomedical research funded by the Food & Drug Administration & the National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services. Most of the research falls within the broad category of extramural projects, grants, contracts, and cooperative agreements conducted primarily by universities, hospitals, and other research institutions. Information includes an abstract of project, principal investigators, award type & activity, sponsor, & grant amount.
	Nucleic Acids Abstracts Covers cloning and sequencing strategies as well as gene regulatory sequences and proteins, RNA processing and transport, RNA editing, DNA biosynthesis, transcription factors and oncoproteins.
	Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM) OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes that is freely available and updated daily. OMIM is authored and edited at the McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, under the direction of Dr. Ada Hamosh.
	Orpha.net The portal for rare diseases and orphan drugs.
	OVID (MEDLINE) Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.
	Ovid Gateway Provides access to a variety of databases indexing the literature of art, biomedicine, music and philosophy. Services currently include Biological Abstracts, CINAHL, Journal@OVID fulltext, Medline and CANCERLIT.
	PapersFirst PapersFirst is a multidisciplinary index to papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia.
	PDQ: National Cancer Institute PDQ (Physician Data Query) is NCI's comprehensive source of cancer information. It contains cancer information summaries on a wide range of cancer topics; drug information summaries on many cancer-related drugs and drug combinations; and dictionaries of general cancer terms, drug terms, and genetics terms.
	Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine covers the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
	Proceedings First Proceedings First is a multidisciplinary index of published meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia worldwide.
	Protein Clusters This collection of related protein sequences (clusters) consists of proteins derived from the annotations of whole genomes, organelles and plasmids. It currently limited to Archaea, Bacteria, Plants, Fungi, Protozoans, and Viruses
	PsycCRITIQUES 1956-2017 (via Portico) Full-text book reviews featuring current scholarly and professional books in psychology. Includes reviews from a psychological perspective of popular films and trade books from 1956 through 2017.
	PsychiatryOnline A powerful web-based portal that features DSM-5—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing. It provides access to the DSM® Library, Journals, Textbooks, American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines, self-assessment tools for study, clinical and research news from Psychiatric News, and medication information handouts for patients. Useful for searching information on psychiatric medications. Subscription database with access for authorized UM/JMH users.
	PsycINFO Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.
	PTSDpubs This database, formerly called PILOTS, is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. The database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma. Coverage: 1871 - current
	PubMed Database produced by NLM (National Library of Medicine) containing bibliographic references, including abstracts of articles from thousands of bio medical journals.
	Science Careers Jobs in Science & Technology from Science Careers
	Science Citation Index Expanded Accessed through the Web of Science Citation Databases services.
	Science Signaling Science Signaling provides instant access to the concepts and methods leading to breakthroughs in signal transduction.
	Scopus A database of abstracts and citations for scholarly journal articles published since 1996, covering nearly 18,000 titles from the arts, medicine, physical sciences, and the social sciences.
	Social Care Online The UK’s largest database of information and research on all aspects of social care and social work.
	SPIE Digital Library SPIE Digital Library includes resource on optics and photonics, providing access to more than 260,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new research papers are added annually.
	SPORTDiscus with Full text Database of Sports literature; journal coverage is 1975 - present; books and theses is 1949 to present. Access within UM IP domain.
	SUMSearch SUMSearch is a metasearch engine that provides references to answer clinical questions. Simultaneously searches multiple sources of high quality with emphasis on evidence-based medicine
	Toxicology Abstracts Toxicology Abstracts indexes journal articles that cover a broad range of issues including toxicity testing methodology, substance abuse, natural toxins, legislation and recommended standards, and environmental issues.
	UpToDate Clinical decision support tool designed to answer clinical questions that arise in daily practice. Subscription database with access for UM/JMH authorized users.
	Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository This is a database of ongoing nursing research, searchable by conference abstract, researcher, keyword (study title and/or indexing keywords), or study.
	Virology and AIDS Abstracts Indexes and abstracts international literature of virology in humans, animals, and plants with topics ranging from replication cycles to oncology.
	Web of Science The Web of Science is today's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You get integrated access to high quality literature through a unified platform that links a wide variety of content with one seamless search.
	WorldCat WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.